Week 3-A Try At Morse Code

Scott Lamourt
2 min readSep 23, 2021

--

After a lot of thought, I could not think of a single thing to do. So I decided to look into our Arduino book a bit and look over our lab code that we did together. I thought to myself, “What is a fun way to use an LED?” Then my dog just so happened to walk on in and the idea just hit me. Why not try and spell out dog in Morse code?

very important note taking

I looked online at the Morse code alphabet and thankfully dog is only 3 letters so figuring out the translation into Morse code was quick.

However, then the coding began and my brain turned to mush. I did what I could and it seemed to work out a bit. The coding in Arduino editor was pretty long though.

super incredible coding action

I sent the code to my little Arduino and clicked the button and it seemed to actually work? I tried my best to create delays. You apply the code to whenever the LED turns off. It should turn off for longer periods of time for a dash and turn off for short periods of time for a dot.

It repeats in this video and I’m sure you can try and figure it out.

--

--