Instructions for Strange Desires

It’s a good sign when I’m commuting and writing

SJStone
4 min readFeb 13, 2024

--

It’s always a good sign when I’m driving to work and writing. I wrote an entire novel in my head, planned it all out, during a three-hour drive years ago. The commute is much shorter, but with the right music and the brain back in “drive”, I start writing. Away from everything, when the world is locked out and it’s just me and road.

Instructions for Strange Desires reappeared today in my head.

Instructions for Strange Desires is a collection of short stories planned for 2024 that leaves the mundane world behind — think fantastical worlds, odd scenarios, erotic encounters, and the most bizarre scenarios imaginable as unsuspecting tourists of worlds upon worlds encounter a sinister, sentient tome that sucks them into its pages and pits them against all manner of terrors, trials and temptations.

It all comes together towards the end, as the characters realize they’re not story characters after all, but real people trapped in a maze of wonder. How will they escape? And will they even want to?

--

--

SJStone

teacher. linguist. innovator. author. politico. realist. registered Independent. Navy veteran. Find me here: https://www.sjstoneauthor.com/