The 3 Times You’re Most in Danger with a Narcissist

This is a dangerous mental disorder: it’s not just about ego.

A. M. Champion
12 min readMay 29, 2024

--

Before I committed to studying cluster b disorders to understand myself and my family, I often considered narcissism to simply mean someone who was self consumed, egotistical, arrogant, belligerent, lacking morals, and delusional. It was well known that they were frequently cheaters and pathological liars.

As I began to awaken to my own toxic family upbringing and trauma bonding patterns, I was able to spot narcissists much easier using my knowledge, my empathy to feel their feelings, and my trauma responses to parse them out. There are tests you can throw out to people that narcissists will always fail, and I learned how to navigate and avoid them.

However, my problem was this:

I severely underestimated the danger.

Photo by Mikael Seegen on Unsplash

For example, I was able to figure out that my apartment maintenance man had NPD within a couple months of knowing him and with the help of my therapist. I followed all the advice and decided to grey rock him.

What I DIDN’T anticipate:

  • That he had installed a microphone on me and that he heard me unmask him and reject him.

--

--

A. M. Champion

BPD diagnosed; raised in a cluster b family; poet and professor; degrees in Creative Writing and Behavioral Psychology. https://am-champion.com