Re: The Buried Seed

Light Johnson
2 min readMar 5, 2023

--

Photo by Joel & Jasmin Førestbird on Unsplash

Dear Winter,

I received your letter in the post the other day. Which was very unexpected as you are the last person I expected to hear from in this season.. After all, you are the reason why I am in this dampened state of mind.

It was difficult reading through your words at first.. but I just read it over again for the umpteenth time. It has taken me this long to respond because it has taken me this long to finally hear you. Somehow, it feels as though you’ve always been speaking to me but I just never bothered to listen. For that, I apologise.

I know that over the years, I have become more and more condescending towards you. In my defence, it always feels like you only come to kill, steal and destroy… yes, I said it. You do be giving off demonic behaviour whenever you’re around.

But I now understand that I had misunderstood your nature all this while. I finally see you now, and I finally see that you see me too. I’ve been down here all this while thinking that the purpose of this season was to break out of these four walls. I’m starting to see that is far from the truth. The truth, however, still seems difficult to grasp but I will learn to breathe in this confined space. Patience has always sounded more like a foreign language to me. But if you say this is the necessary requirement for the harvest then who am I to fight you?

I understand that you’re on a rota and time is not up until you finish your shift. But I can’t lie, this waiting feels endless sometimes. Some days are harder than most but I now see that even when I’m down, you are always finding a way to offer some form of comfort.

It all somehow makes sense and also does not make sense. But one thing we can both agree on is that seeds need to be buried to grow… and you are the best season for planting. I just always assumed this only applied to plants. I want you to know that I am grateful FOR you, and the harvest that springs FROM you. Thank you for helping me see the unseen essence of being present in this season.

I hope I do not forget all that has been said when next you come around. But if I do, be gentle. For at the end of the day, I am but a seed.

Till next time,

The buried seed

--

--

Light Johnson

The Light shines in the darkness and the darkness has not been able to understand it or overcome it.