The Four Pillars: A model for Self-Improvement by the Latter-Day Saints Church

Shelly Axton
3 min readAug 4, 2023

--

“The heavenly father has given you talents and spiritual gifts.You can search for revelation to know how to develop your talents,becoming more like Christ,bettering yourself,help others and to even contribute to make a better world.”

A great part of the church’s goals focuses on self-improvemt for their members,this guide of personal development provides principles and tools for developing talents and following christ.

What are the four pillars?

The four pillars are the fundamental areas for personal development according to the church.

Spiritual: Growing spiritually by your efforts to follow the doctrine

Social: Growing socially by showing kindness and love for all people

Physical: Taking care of your body,mental health and God’s creations

Intellectual: Learning new abilities and bettering your talents

Model for growing

The church gives various types of support;guide of the holy spirit,scriptures,and the word of their living prophets.They also developed a model for growing:

Discover in what you have to work

Plan how will you do it

Act with faith In your plan

Reflect In what you have learned

Discover your needs,gifts and talents

The guide encourages you to make yourself the following questions:

  • Who can I provide service?
  • How can I keep the conventions I made when I got baptized?
  • Which spiritual habits do I have to develop or improve?
  • Which new talents or abilities do I want to cultivate?
  • What do I think that I have to learn or change in my life?

The manual assures you that the heavenly father will answer this questions if you trust him,pray,study the scriptures and hear the word of the living prophets.Also if you dispose of a patriarchal blessing( a declaration of a person’s lineage in the house of Israel and personal counsel from the Lord)

Plan to improve

Aftere you have decided on what you will work,make a plan on how can you make it.

  • Why is this important to me?
  • How will this help me become more like Christ?
  • Which actions do i have to take to do this?
  • Can I divide this actions into smaller steps?
  • What plans can I make now to overcome the challenges I may face?

Act to grow on faith

Make reminders that can help you keep centered.Ask for support.

  • What has worked well?why?
  • What has not worked well?why not?
  • What else can I try?
  • Where can I find more ideas?
  • Can i divide my goal into smaller steps or actions?
  • How can I learn from setbacks?

Reflect In what you have learned

Ponder in your goals and plans after you work In them.

  • How have I grown?
  • How can I use what I have learned to help others?
  • How have my actions brought me closer to christ
  • How can I keep growing In this aspect?

--

--