Meet Sister Doris Oberembt

Sacred Heart Monastery
2 min readSep 20, 2021

--

Sister Doris Oberembt uses her listening skills as a spiritual director in the Benedictine Peace CenterBackground

I was a middle child in a large family of eleven children. I learned early on in life the joys, struggles and power for growth in that kind of experience. So I anticipated finding much the same in becoming a member of our large Benedictine community in Yankton. In many ways that assumption proved to be true, but in other ways the diversity of personalities, backgrounds, age differences, interests, education, life experiences, perceptions, values and expectations that make up my Benedictine Monastic community proved to be a much richer experience and gift than I had ever imagined.

The Gifts

As with every gift there are concurrent challenges, so with the many blessings I receive from my sisters there is also that gradual, but sometimes painful, letting go of my limited way of seeing the world and my expectations of others. The daily give and take of life in community challenges me to begin to learn to live in a more open and receptive way in order to be able to receive, affirm and relish the gifts of others. Daily I am inspired by the many acts of generosity, joy, compassion, and prayerfulness of my sisters. Even my inevitable struggles in relationships within community lead me to new understandings, new ways of seeing and living life with gratitude and compassion.

What excites me about religious life …

I believe that one of the greatest gifts we have to offer the Church and our world today as Benedictines is that of being a faith-filled, loving, joyful community of women in love with God and cherishing God’s presence in our wounded but beautiful world. That then spills over into the fruitful ministry of sharing the Good News of God’s great love and the worth and dignity of each person.

Ministry Work

As a part of her ministry in the Benedictine Peace Center she is involved in several retreat included the Triduum Retreat. She also assists with Contemplative Mornings the first Saturday of each month. More information is available on her background as a staff member of the Benedictine Peace Center. Plenty of opportunities are available at the Benedictine Peace Center.

--

--

Sacred Heart Monastery

We are Benedictine women of Yankton, SD, sharing our gift of seeking God through prayer, work, study and community life.