Patrick Krebs
1 min readMar 8, 2016

Dear Myke and Casey

Dear Myke and Casey,

As I write this, I am listening to the Squarespace ad in Analog(ue) 75 which took place immediately after the discussion of Becky Hansmeyer’s blog post about how more and more of the people she enjoys following on Twitter are moving their conversations to Slack, where they are more private.

While much of my experience and feelings are similar to Becky’s (My life is hectic and don’t have much time to make many friends with similar interests and hobbies) I have at least one counterpoint to her post.

Most of the interesting people on the internet that I enjoy following are on podcasts, and podcasts are at their best when it feels like listening in on a couple of friends talking about interesting topics. As popular as shows like Serial and 99% Invisible are, I still find the most joy out of the conversational shows. Whether its getting deep with you guys on Analog(ue), or the rambunctious groups of the Incomparable family of shows, I feel incredibly fortunate to be able to observe these little snippets of the lives of some interesting people who I admire.

I could ramble for awhile (I am maybe even a little obsessive about podcasts) but the point is, you (and all people) are entitled to their private lives. You are already giving up so much of your life by putting it into the public sphere every week when you put out a podcast.

So maybe my Twitter timeline is a little sad, but thats okay, I’ll just put on a podcast.