Alex Brown joins Sales Confidence as Event & Sales Director - for SaaSGrowth to expand events internationally

Sales Confidence
5 min readDec 11, 2019

--

Events are the bedrock of what we do here at Sales Confidence. As Alex Brown, our new Events and Sales Director, joins the team, we sat down to talk about his plans to make our events even bigger and better.

The Sales Confidence team is growing again. Today, we welcome Alex Brown to the group, joining as Events and Sales Director. We first began hosting events to elevate the sales profession in late 2017 and it is still the core of what we do. Now, we stage events for sales leaders, individual contributors and SDRs in London and other international cities, as well as SaaSGrowth Annual Conference and the SaaSGrowth Summit for Sales and Revenue Leaders.

SaaSGrowth is set to become the destination offline for revenue leaders to learn how to buy, adopt, implement and scale sales and marketing technologies, as well as be inspired by thought leadership. The summits will be delivered in cities around the world with the climax being the annual conference; SaaSGrowth 2020 — Europe’s No 1 Sales and Revenue Leadership event, July 8th, Old Billingsgate, London for 750 Sales and Revenue Leaders (Marketing, Sales Ops and Sales Enablement).

Alex has the ideal experience to build the SaaS Growth brand globally, having started, launched and built conferences within the technology industry. Prior to joining us, he was responsible for events at GDS. GDS has built a reputation for premium summits for CXO’s and Alex will use these insights to enhance the SaaSGrowth Summit proposition for attendees, sponsors and speakers. Before GDS he spent 6 years at award-winning events firm Prysm.

Alex will be leading the current team of 7 from Bristol, but we are expecting to be hiring for delegate sales development reps and sponsorship account executives in Bristol, Exeter, San Fran and London, as we double headcount in sales in 2020.

Alex Brown — Events & Sales Director — SaaSGrowth

JS: Hi Alex. Great to have you on the team. Let’s start by telling the Sales Confidence community about you and your career. How did you get to this point?

AB: Well, for my first job after finishing at uni in Bristol, I kind of fell into starting my own business; tattoo studios. In just over five years, we had seven tattoo studios across London and the South of England. I also noticed, while I was building this business, that we were shipping in so much product. It made sense to get into that area as well, so we set up a distribution and warehousing company alongside the studios. We were shipping medical products to tattoo studios, also moving into other verticals such as orthodontics.

I did this until 2013, when I received an excellent offer for these businesses. So, I exited.

After that is when I started in events. I joined Prysm, a small company with big ambitions. I launched and grew a wide range of trade shows and exhibitions, primarily in the hospitality & Technology industry. One of them, Restaurant Technology Live, grew into Europe’s largest event for this sector. By the time I left, we were taking up half of the Excel Centre!

I left Prysm earlier this year and joined GDS, where I ran summits for business leaders around the subjects of blockchain, AI, IoT and other future technologies. But then, I met you!

JS: Great stuff. So, tell the community about what you’ll be doing at Sales Confidence. Also, tell us what attracted you to the Sales Confidence and SaaSGrowth brands.

AB: I’m joining as Events and Sales Director. That means I’ll be managing events end-to-end. There will be a focus on sales and also some operations, but events are what I’ll be living and breathing.

What attracted me to Sales Confidence? I know events. I’ve run hundreds of them. I know what you need to do to grow events. I also know what you need to invest in for scale.

I believe that the events Sales Confidence run are ready to go global. James Ski and Sales Confidence; you have the network, you have the influence in the industry. I’ve seen what you need to have to expand globally and I know that Sales Confidence has it.

Events traditionally work for years to develop attention, brand equity and mindshare but what you have achieved is exceptional and provides me a solid foundation to build on.

JS: What is the difference between Sales Confidence and SaaSGrowth?

Sales Confidence is focused on evening events for Sales Leaders, Individual Contributors and SDRs. SaaSGrowth Annual Conference and Summits is focused on Sales and Revenue Leaders interested in thought leadership and learning how to buy, adopt, implement and scale sales technologies.

JS: What is particularly exciting for you about SaaS Growth Annual Conference and our Summits.

Focus is critical in events. You have got full attention as being the destination for Sales and Revenue Leaders in the UK and Europe to network and learn about sales and sales technologies. For now, you are leading and innovating in this space. However, for global scale you need to improve delivery. You must be able to replicate the experience and quality in other cities. I have the skills, knowledge and experience to help with this, so I look forward to getting stuck in.

JS: Brilliant. Thanks Alex. Tell us something about yourself that we don’t know about yet.

AB: I grew up in Cornwall, so obviously, I’m a surfer. I’ve been surfing since I was a child and it’s the thing I love doing. I’m always on the lookout for somewhere beautiful and hot to surf. Working in events, December is generally pretty quiet, so I’m off to Panama with my surfboard!

Welcome Alex Brown!

Thanks to Alex for that talk. Please join me in welcoming Alex to the team. Next time you’re at one of our events, make sure you say hi to Alex, if you can catch him!

If you are interested in joining his sales team, visit our careers page here.

About Sales Confidence

Sales Confidence’s vision is to build the world’s largest B2B Sales community, elevate the sales profession and help sales professionals be the best they can be at each stage of their career through achieving peak performance, mindset awareness and positive wellbeing.

Learn more www.salesconfidence.com

About SaaSGrowth

SaaSGrowth Conference and Summits deliver events for B2B Sales and Revenue Leaders in the tech space to educate themselves on the thousands of sales technologies appearing on the market. Whether you are from sales, marketing, sales ops or sales enablement, our events bring you together to share unique insights on industry best practice. We will also show you the most successful ways to choose, implement, adopt and scale sales technologies to accelerate growth in your business.

Learn more www.saasgrowth.co

--

--

Sales Confidence

Understand behaviours and habits of top B2B SaaS Sales Leaders. Interviews with LinkedIn, Salesforce, Qualtrics, Box etc hosted by @jamesas