samanthađź’›
3 min readJul 19, 2017

How to Get Your Kids to Code

Although I am not a parent, I have insight into exactly what it takes to get a kid involved in something that maybe doesn’t seem that interesting to them, or is something that they wouldn’t necessarily spend their free time on. Here are three tips to not only get your kid to do something, but inspire them and make them want to do it themselves!

Tip one: Pull don’t push. This tip doesn’t stop at kids. If someone isn’t interested in something, and really is passionate about not doing whatever it is you’re trying to get them to do, that is their prerogative. Programming is something that people love to do, and something that a lot of people are passionate about. If someone really doesn’t want to program, you can’t force them to learn.

Tip two: If they show any interest, jump on that! Make them interested! If your kid loves something specific, embrace that! If your child is really interested in Barbies, help them make a website all about Barbies! If your kid loves Minecraft, help them make a custom video game! If they think it is interesting, they will be more than happy to learn. When I was nine years old, I got really grounded one summer. The only way I could get ungrounded was to build a website using HTML and CSS, so I did. The entire website was different shades of pink, and there were kittens everywhere. Long story short, when I made the website something I enjoyed, the whole project became much more interesting for me. If you’re excited about it, they will be too. Excitement is contagious.

Tip three: Positive reinforcement! Positive reinforcement! Positive reinforcement! The last and probably most important tip I can offer is tell them how great they’re doing. Be excited! Pump them up and keep them involved in this project. It doesn’t have to be just verbal, as I got older, and ungrounded (haha) I slowly stopped coding as I got more busy with school. My mom used this tip to her advantage and told me that if she got me a laptop, I would have to use it to get back into coding. And it worked! Even if they do something small, recognize it. Find something they can earn, be proud of them and make sure they know that they are doing really well.

These tips are just guidelines. Take these and apply them as needed. Every child is different, My brother and I approached programming in very different ways. What works for someone will not necessarily work for someone else, be creative and be involved.

Thank you! -Sam

samanthađź’›

co-founder of @codebridgetexas, still a student, but just you wait.