Best Learning Practices For Tech Courses In 2023

Sameerah_writes
4 min readMar 27, 2023

--

A laptop screen with a coffee cup beside it and pens in a medium post about Best Learning Practices For Data Analytics In 2023.
Photo by Myriam Jessier on Unsplash

This year I and a friend made the decision to venture into Tech and stake our claim in the Tech Industry. After making our research and tons of hilarious phone calls, I decided on Data Analytics and Data Science.

I initially started with Python and left it three weeks in because I felt it was complicated for me, (I should have stuck with it) but I left it and started the Google Data Analytics Certification Course on Coursera, and one thing I will say is I am having so much fun with it.

The course is for 6 months and costs 14 dollars a month with a one-week free trial, you can also seek financial aid for one module under the course, the course has 8 modules in total. If you cannot afford the course, my last post was on free websites that offer free tech courses that will issue certificates that you can use, you can read it here.

I work all the time and I wondered how I would fit the course inside my schedule at first and how I would assimilate all the new knowledge but I took some steps and they have been helping me since.

Best Learning Practices For Tech Courses

These best learning practices are what I used to get 97.5%, 98%, and 94.5% in the first 3 modules of the course.

They are as follows;

  1. Dedicate time to the course.
  2. Have a Notepad dedicated to the course
  3. Write down important points.
  4. Take advantage of the Self Reflection exercises.
  5. Revise every day.
  6. Learning Practices: Read and recite at least 3 times before you write it down again.
  7. Share your accomplishments.
  8. Get an accountability partner.

Dedicate time to the course.

You should take some time in your schedule for the course and know that this specified time is for the course alone. What I do is take 1 and a half hours or even 2 hours toward the course from Mondays to Fridays, you can add more hours or less if you feel like it. This will help you look forward to the course every day.

Have a Notepad dedicated to the course

One of the first things I do when taking a new course is to get a new notepad dedicated to the course. Having a notepad will have your jottings in one place and also make sure to date each class you take in your notepad (I think this is a neat habit to have).

Write down important points.

Throughout the course, you will come across some definitions and points you should write them down in your notepad because you will meet those points in the quiz after each module and also the practice quizzes. You might even catch on some things your course instructor will say so write them down.

Take advantage of the Self Reflection exercises

Throughout the course(If you are taking it on Coursera) you will come across ‘self-reflection’ exercises, you will have the chance to either download them or access them via Google Drive but I would advise you to download them. These exercises will help you put down your thoughts about the units you have learned about. One tip to save them is “Module Number_Version of Exercise_Date”.

Revise every day

Make sure to revise what you learn every day, I typically do this at night before I go to bed, I just go through my jottings that day and if I come across what I do not understand, I go back to the course and check. Also if you have any hands-on exercises, make sure to practice every day. I find that doing this will help you lessen the load of what you have to revise and also make you armed with knowledge for the next day.

Learning Practices: Read and recite at least 3 times before you write it down again.

One of the best ways to revise and assimilate is to read it out and recite at least 3 times and then write it down again to lock it in. My technique is to recite up to 3 times and then write it down using the first letter of the word alone. So “Metadata is data about data” becomes “M.I.D.A.D.” This method will help you recall it faster when you go back to your notes another time.

Share your accomplishments

Since I started this course, I have been sharing my accomplishment on Twitter when I finish a module under the course. You can share your scores online and even your certificates on LinkedIn so people can celebrate you and your hard work and you will be motivated to learn more.

Get an accountability partner

Finding a partner with who you can take courses together and share tips and acknowledge what you have learned will help you toward finishing your course. Your accountability partner will be there to make sure you work hard.

Conclusion

Taking an online course can get boring after some time and you might lose the motivation to go on but once you get into it and know your end goals you should work toward them as much as you can. These best learning practices will help you not just in Data Analytics but in other tech courses.

2023 is for personal development so make sure you focus and put in the work.

Good luck on your tech journey in 2023.

--

--