DeFi Kingdoms Whale Watch and Tokenalytics Report 2022 — Vol. 1 (January 9, 2022)

Samichpunch
6 min readJan 10, 2022

--

Nothing in this report is intended to be financial advice and is strictly for informational purposes.

Twitter: @Samichpunch | Discord: Samichpunch#2518 | Reddit: u/Taelim

Hi DFK Fam -

It’s the first report of 2022 and I’ve shortened the name of this report to the DeFi Kingdoms Whale Watch and Tokenalytics report. Snapshot was taken on January 9, 2021. Most of you are here because you’ve been following these prior reports or are already part of the community and are seeing this in the discord, reddit or my twitter. For those who are brand new to DeFi Kingdoms or know nothing about this gamefi platform, please see the bottom of this summary for some helpful links (including my index of articles which includes a comprehensive beginner’s guide).

Before we get into it, I’ve created an index for all of my DeFi Kingdoms articles. I highly recommend bookmarking and following my medium account so that you can stay current on my latest.

Shout outs:

  • Shout out to Magg and his https://kingdom.watch/ website, which has some really cool querying tools that allows me to present some of this LP and locked/unclaimed Jewel data for some of the biggest xJewel holders.
  • Special thanks to MrZipper as well for his help in pulling hero data for me. Def give him a follow on Mr. Zipper’s medium account.

************

WHAT IS THIS? This report focuses on key metrics related to the game aspect of DeFi Kingdoms based on the largest wallets (by xJewel), as wallets participating in the LP pools may not always be closely associated with the adoption of the game itself and are a bit outside the scope of this report. However, I do provide some data of the LP holdings of the top xJewel wallets.

I am aiming to incorporate a section sometime this year (and going forward) that would be dedicated to just whales based on LP holdings — but the data is a bit harder to pull than just a token holding like Jewel and xJewel.

************

Time since last report: ~14 Days

Analytics

Condensed this section into one table with the numbers and my thoughts in the right-most column.

You’ll notice some very big number swings in this report, that is due to a VERY large new xJewel holder. I’ll get into more details on that in the top50 Movement section of this report below.

Top Wallet Movement

The only thing I really want to highlight is our NEW Moby dick wallet.

Our new Moby Dick wallet joined the top 50 on January 9 (depending on your time zone) with a deposit of a whopping aggregate 2.4M Jewel. At a price of $18.41 as of the time of writing this report, that is worth ~44M USD.

Ironically, this person’s wallet is “trout” but they are far from a trout, with nearly 5x our prior Moby Dick’s xJewel holdings.

Here are some details on where all of these funds came from:

  • Trout deposited 2.4M Jewel transferred to them from another wallet. Going to avoid disclosing the name of the wallet in an effort not to dox some other wallets affiliated, but they also have another wallet where they appear to hold all of their heroes separate from Trout and separate from the “source” wallet.
  • The source wallet joined DFK in the first two weeks (being intentionally vague again to avoid doxxing anyone) and deposited hundreds of thousands into the gardens. You’ve got to have some serious Chad energy to ape that type of money in that early — there was still a lot of uncertainty at that time so hats off to Trout for taking a big risk like this.
  • The source wallet as of Today has withdrawn its garden funds, is sitting on a very large locked balance worth about $145M at the time of writing this report, and transferred the rest of the unlocked balance to Trout.
  • Trout deposited 2.4M Jewel, turning it into 1.45M xJewel in the bank.
  • Trout also sold about $5M USD worth of Jewel into various other coins (USDC, ONE and AVAX) — this indicates to me they are getting ready to move on Crystalvale expansion.

Am I concerned by this? I’m not. Do I wish I had as much as they do in their wallet? Yes. This person has enough in unlocked value to never work for multiple lifetimes and they deposited the VAST majority of their unlocked balance into the bank. I don’t know their motives, but they must be getting ready for Crystalvale and expansion — which means they have a bullish outlook. The reality is that this person was the backbone of most of the liquidity in those initial weeks of the project, which is a HUGE risk to take on — so hats off to them for building a foundation for this project and responsibly taking profits over the past day.

While I am not concerned by this, it does highlight the importance for me to try and find whale position by LP holdings alone (and not tied to current Jewel or xJewel holdings). I’ll be working diligently on this.

Anyways, now that we’ve addressed that, here is the rest of the movement for the top50.

LP Holdings and Total Value in Game by Top 15 xJewel Wallets (AND LOCKED BALANCES!)

Here is the LP holdings of the top 15 xJewel holders. Yes I know I’d like to get an LP top holdings chart not pegged to top xJewel holders, but I’m limited in what I can pull from the block explorer, including through third party apps developed by community members. I’ll be looking into this diligently.

Nothing really shocking here. The locked balance of Trout’s source wallet, the new giga chad is worth $145M USD, so smaller than our 5th wallet listed here. The difference between them is that Trout waited a very long time to hit a the claim, meaning they had a huge unlocked balance, whereas our 5th wallet above has been consistently claiming leaving them with a much larger locked balance.

Prior Whale Watch Reports

Check out my Index of DeFi Kingdoms Articles for a list of all my prior Whale watch reports, among many other articles, including various specific strategy guides!

DeFi Kingdoms Lost Annals of Gaia

You can check out all of these volumes, which are compiled nuggets of knowledge on game mechanics that I’ve compiled from Devs in the discord. Check them all out in my Index of DeFi Kingdoms Articles!

Inner Grove Podcast

I recently started a podcast with some close friends where we discuss hot topics and issues related to gameplay in 20–30 minute segments. Give the channel a follow so that you can stay up to date!

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UChEe39RczjmF75lI2Fe8BxA

Samichpunch’s Unofficial Beginner’s Guide and Index

Comprehensive written guide with lots of links, including to various youtube videos on how you can get started if you are just learning about DFK for the first time:

Samichpunch’s Unofficial Beginner’s Guide

You should also bookmark my index of DeFi Kingdoms articles, as its the repository of all the DFK articles that I write:

Samichpunch Index of DFK Articles

Where to learn more about DefiKingdoms?

In addition to my various medium articles you should definitely check out:

Whitepaper

Discord

Twitter

Charts

Also check out Albushelpful links doc — which is an amazing compilation of various resources on all things DeFi Kingdoms

--

--

Samichpunch

An ex-biglaw corporate attorney that is passionate about crypto. Dragon's Crossing co-Founder and Trusted source of DFK content.