‘The Call of the Whiskey’ -An original poem transformed into life using AI-generated art.

Sankha Subhra Debnath
4 min readMar 31, 2022

--

The Call of the Whiskey- by Sankha S. Debnath

Its noon and its cloudy
Here comes the call of the whiskey

Pouring myself a glass and thinking
As my thoughts are sinking
I feel more in the moment
After a few whiskeys of bestowment

The reality is mundane.
The brain shuts off in pain
It keeps asking
What are we doing?
Why keep moving?
When you could be just laying?

The screens
The machines
The foods
And the moods
All keep me distracted
As each ounce of my agony is extracted

A second more, A minute more
A day more, A year more
As I march once again
To the liquor store.

Towards the inevitable, I go
I am so close to the deathblow
What is the point?
My brain murmurs
All this will be over
After the long hangover.

In my memories, In my senses
I will be buried
Like everyone else I know,
I shall be carried.
There can never be the right goodbye
So why all the wry?

And suddenly the jolt comes
As I sit back on my thumbs
The dizziness fades
As all the thought degrades
All in the head
it was
Outside, I see the shades
Its noon and its cloudy
Here comes the call of the whiskey.

AI-Generated artwork of the poem

The poem is now divided into prompts in order to give the input for the generated images. The AI-Generated platform used here is Dream by Wombo.art to create unique artworks. The program here is trained using large datasets of images that randomly picks out pattern, texture, themes, and colours consistent with the user input and try to generate something coherent.

Verse 1

Its noon and its cloudy
Here comes the call of the whiskey

Pouring myself a glass and thinking
As my thoughts are sinking
I feel more in the moment
After a few whiskeys of bestowment

The reality is mundane.
The brain shuts off in pain
It keeps asking
What are we doing?

Verse 1: The Call of the Whiskey by Sankha, artwork generated using Dream, Wombo.art
Verse 1: The Call of the Whiskey by Sankha, artwork generated using Dream, Wombo.art

Verse 2

Why keep moving?
When you could be just laying?

The screens
The machines
The foods
And the moods
All keep me distracted
As each ounce of my agony is extracted

A second more, A minute more
A day more, A year more
As I march once again
To the liquor store.

Verse 2: The Call of the Whiskey by Sankha, artwork generated using Dream, Wombo.art

Verse 3

Towards the inevitable, I go
I am so close to the deathblow
What is the point?
My brain murmurs
All this will be over
After the long hangover.

In my memories, In my senses
I will be buried
Like everyone else I know,
I shall be carried.
There can never be the right goodbye
So why all the wry?

Verse 3: The Call of the Whiskey by Sankha, artwork generated using Dream, Wombo.art

Verse 4

And suddenly the jolt comes
As I sit back on my thumbs
The dizziness fades
As all the thought degrades
All in the head
it was
Outside, I see the shades
Its noon and its cloudy
Here comes the call of the whiskey.

Verse 4: The Call of the Whiskey by Sankha, artwork generated using Dream, Wombo.art

‘The Call of the Whiskey by Sankha’: The AI-Generated artwork

The final artwork generated using the poem in Dream, Wombo.art

Conclusion

AI-generated artworks are still in their budding stage. Algorithms such as Dreams’ are getting better and better as more libraries and datasets are being trained. This is a demonstration to show how the nature of how we view creativity will change as more and more improvement comes in the algorithms we are using currently. I have taken an original poem I have written and tried to envision how it might be perceived by a well-trained AI algorithm which in turn will feed us human beings how we might imagine the poem itself. There are many fundamental questions that are lurking right now like Who owns the copyright of the artworks? Who has legal ownership over the artworks? Who has the right to claim ownership over such artworks?. This is unchartered territory and is yet to be seen how it unfolds in the coming years as AI-generated artworks become more and more integrated into the mainstream. For now, the goal is to keep experimenting, creating, and having fun along the way.

You can use the following resources I share below to know more about AI artwork and the platforms:

  1. https://www.theverge.com/2021/12/6/22820106/ai-art-app-dream-synthetic-media-wombo
  2. https://www.slaphappylarry.com/using-artificial-intelligence-to-make-art-wombo-and-deep-dream-generator/
  3. https://sts4ir.com/2021/12/06/ai-image-generation-wombo/
  4. https://tcrn.ch/3wSWw9z
  5. https://www.wombo.art/

To support my work you can buy me a coffee here 😀:

--

--

Sankha Subhra Debnath

Masters Planetary Sciences | University of Aberdeen | Bachelors Electronics & Communication Engineer. Interests:Space exploration,Futurism,Philosophy,Literature