Welcome! … and what I need from you.

Santal Tech
2 min readNov 27, 2022

--

Hello to my followers and thank you for reading! :)

First, who is behind Santal Tech?

I recently (and very fortunately) finished my software engineering job hunt towards the end of 2022, while most companies are doing layoffs and freezing hiring, and ended up with seven offers (total compensation ranging between $400-$600k) after applying to nine companies. I’m currently a senior software engineer at a well-known tech company.

I’ll be writing about these interview experiences and sharing insights and tips on how to perform well. I’ll also be writing some guides on common algorithmic questions (I have a few of these published already), system design frameworks, and best practices for behavioral (“Experience” / “Leadership”) interviews.

I’ve created an “Index” page with a catalog of all my articles, organized by topic. Check it out here. Let me know what you’d like to see more of.

Now, what I’m really interested in: what do you want me to write more of? Are there any topics that you’d like to know more about? Some ideas:

  • What resources I used to prepare for interviews
  • How to communicate with recruiters effectively, e.g. templates for asking for status updates, offer deadline extensions, and more
  • Interview timelines
  • How to negotiate offers
  • A beginner’s guide to dynamic programming and more advanced algorithms
  • Common templates for coding questions (e.g. graph traversals, stacks, queues), and collections of problems for you to practice with
  • Fun (really!) computer science or math trivia

I know there’s a ton of these guides out on the market, but in return for reading my writing, I promise you I’ll give my best at:

  • Providing quality and value. I’ll put in the time to make these guides easy to read and well-organized.
  • Receptiveness to feedback. You comment, I’ll listen. Tell me what you want me to write more or less of.
  • Consistency. I’ll aim to publish at least an article a week, but I might run out of topics to write about unless I have your help on giving me ideas for what to write!

Hope to hear from you soon and take care!

--

--

Santal Tech

Software engineer interview and career tips. https://santal.tech has my interview experiences with Square, Datadog, Retool, Two Sigma, and more. Thanks!