My Journey of Mastering the PL300 Microsoft Power BI Data Analyst Certification

Santhanalakshmi Ponnurasan
8 min readJun 1, 2023

--

From an aspirant to an Achiever, this article focuses on my journey of conquering the PL300 Microsoft Certification.

About PL300

Upon successful completion of PL300, an online proctored examination, you will earn the prestigious title of Microsoft Certified Power BI Data Analyst.

Skills Measured

  1. Prepare the data (25–30%)
  2. Model the data (25–30%)
  3. Visualize and analyze the data (25–30%)
  4. Deploy and maintain assets (15–20%)

All the above skills are equally important. Make sure not to miss out on any. And most importantly, do not neglect the “Deploy and Maintain Assets” section.

Question Types

The number of questions will range between 40 and 60. Here are some examples of the types of questions that I encountered during the exam:

1. Multiple Choice (Click for Sample)
To tackle this question, you’ll need to select multiple answers from a given set of options.

2. Active Screen (Click for Sample)
To answer this particular question, you will need to carry out two or more distinct actions. For example, you will have to choose one option from a dropdown box and choose one option from a bullet list

3. Best Answer (Click for Sample)
You’ll need to select one option among several choices for this particular question.

4. Build a List (Click for Sample)
To address this particular question, you’ll need to formulate a series of sequential actions to accomplish the intended outcome.

5. Drag and Drop (Click for Sample)
To answer this particular question, you’ll need to select the answer by dragging and dropping it into the corresponding option. This is similar to “Match-the-following” type of questions

6. Repeated Answer Choices (Click for Sample)
You will receive a set of questions with identical or similar answer choices. Each question is unrelated to the others.

7. Case Study (Click for Sample)
In order to respond to the questions, it is necessary to refer to the information presented in the case study. This may include exhibits or other resources that offer further details regarding the scenario described in the case study.
Important- You cannot return back to a Case study section once you complete it and move to the next section.

Read here to know more about all the possibilities of question types in the Microsoft Certification exams.

My PL300 Exam Experience

Here, I am documenting my personal encounter with the exam.

  1. The Check-in Process:
    I had arranged my exam for 6.30 am on a Wednesday, so I ensured that I cleared and prepared my table the previous night. On the day of the exam, I was instructed to check in at 6 am. I logged into my computer at 5.45 am to conduct a system test. At precisely 6 am, I initiated the check-in process, which involved capturing images of my desk and identification using my phone. After completing this step, I joined a queue and patiently awaited a proctor to verify my ID and review the photos. I was promptly greeted by a proctor who requested that I provide a visual inspection of my immediate desk surroundings as a means of verification. Following this, the proctor commenced my exam.
  2. Online-Proctoring Process
    Please keep in mind that your exam will be recorded via video, and the proctor will monitor your activities through your webcam. If you encounter any issues with the application, you have the option to communicate directly with the proctor or reach out to them through the chatbox.
  3. Question-Types
    Initially, I encountered approximately 43 questions, which were followed by a case study containing approximately 4–5 questions. I was presented with a diverse range of question formats/types, as I have previously mentioned in the article. It is advisable to have hands-on experience beforehand. Additionally, it is essential to carefully read the instructions for each question during the exam. It is important to note that once you proceed forward, you cannot return to the case study section, which I, unfortunately, forgot during the exam.
  4. Question-Topics
    The questions in the exam were designed according to the weightage assigned to the measured skills mentioned earlier. It is crucial not to overlook any section and give equal attention to all areas to score well. I have provided a short compilation of the topics and questions that I encountered during the exam.
  5. Exam-Duration
    The exam lasted for approximately 120 minutes, providing ample time. In fact, I had approximately 30 minutes remaining at the end of the exam, which I utilized to review my answers. The case study consumed the majority of my time during the exam.
  6. After the Exam
    After completing the exam, you will receive the results immediately. I was delighted to see that I had successfully passed the exam. It was a gratifying moment as all the hard work had paid off. I celebrated my achievement by treating myself to ice cream afterwards.
  7. Results
    If you wish to download the certificate immediately, you can do so by accessing your Microsoft Learn profile. Alternatively, if you can wait, you will receive an official email containing the necessary links within an hour. Seeing my badge filled me with joy, and I promptly updated my LinkedIn profile to showcase my accomplishment.

Below, I have provided a breakdown of some of the questions that I recall from the exam:

  1. I encountered approximately 4 questions that focused on the roles in workspaces in Power BI.
  2. I was presented with 2 questions based on the different native visual types and 2 questions on the Analytics Pane in Power BI
  3. There was only 1 question related to Paginated reports, where I was asked to identify the fundamental purpose of Paginated reports.
  4. I came across approximately 2 questions that involved anomaly detection/fluctuation explanations utilizing visualizations such as scatter plots and line charts.
  5. I encountered a single question about bookmarks. The task was to document the step-by-step process of creating a bookmark based on a given set of instructions.
  6. I faced 2 questions regarding filters, specifically addressing the different types of filters and the concept of cross-filtering.
  7. I encountered one question concerning setting data alerts on Power BI dashboards. The task required me to arrange the steps in the correct order by dragging and dropping them.
  8. I came across 1 question on Data reduction techniques for Import models. This was a multiple-choice question for me.
  9. There were 2 questions specifically related to Row-Level Security (RLS)- Defining roles and validating roles.
  10. I faced 1 question regarding DAX and another question concerning MQuery. They were pretty basic and not too complicated. I also had 1 question related to best practices when working with Power Query.
  11. There was just a single question that revolved around SharePoint import.
  12. I encountered approximately 2 to 3 questions that were related to data profiling tools- column quality, column distribution & column profile.
  13. There were 2 questions on Creating and Managing relationships. These were fundamental questions.
  14. I faced 2 questions regarding Measures, Calculated Columns, and Calculated tables. Knowing the difference between these and the use cases will be really helpful.
  15. There was 1 question related to Data Groups in Power BI- Lists and Bins
  16. There was only one question that addressed the topic of controlling page visuals affected by Slicers using the Edit Interaction feature. For me, this question was in a True/False format.
  17. Among all the sections, the case study proved to be the most challenging for me. It presented several resources that provided additional information about the described scenario. Approximately 6–7 resources were given, requiring me to navigate back and forth between them to comprehend the scenario thoroughly before answering the corresponding question. I found it somewhat overwhelming to handle.

Here are my recommendations/suggestions to ace the Exam:

  1. Opt for a morning exam session to prevent experiencing mental exhaustion later in the day. I chose to take the exam at 6.30 in the morning on a Wednesday primarily because I noticed that my internet connection tends to be reliable during that time.
  2. Prior to your exam, ensure that you verify if your system meets the necessary requirements to avoid encountering technical difficulties on the actual exam day.
  3. Since I opted for an online-proctored exam, I did find myself somewhat distracted by the small video screen at the top. Therefore, it is advisable not to focus too much on it.
  4. Before undertaking the exam, remember to utilize the sandbox to gain practical experience and familiarize yourself with the exam environment.
  5. Furthermore, it is important to remember to carefully review the instructions for each question. This will help you allocate time to questions.
  6. If you find yourself uncertain about an answer, it is recommended to flag the question, continue with the exam, and revisit it later for review.
  7. When encountering case study questions, it’s important not to feel overwhelmed. Instead of diving into the provided resources immediately, it is advisable to first read the questions and then search for the answers, rather than doing it the other way around.
  8. Avoid constantly checking the timer during the exam. If you have adequately prepared, rest assured that you will have ample time to complete the exam successfully.
  9. You may come across a few questions that introduce entirely new concepts to you. In such cases, utilize the method of elimination to narrow down your options and arrive at an answer. Remember, there are no negative points, so it is worth making an educated guess.
  10. Lastly, it is important not to panic if you do not pass on your initial attempt. Treat it as a valuable lesson and take note of the sections that require further improvement. Use this experience to prepare diligently and return stronger for your next attempt.

All the best!!

Free Resources that I Used

  1. Official Microsoft Documentation (Click here)
  2. Official Microsoft Learn Path (Click here)
  3. Official Practice Test by Microsoft (Click here)
  4. Udemy Course by Maven Analytics (Click here) (Worth purchasing because they update it frequently and can also be used in future as a refresher during the time of renewing)
  5. 10 Questions on Edusum.com (Click here)
  6. 5 Questions on Study4exam.com (Click here)
  7. 232 Questions on Examtopics.com (Click here)
  8. 14 Questions on pass4future.com (Click here)
  9. Around 200 questions on itexams.com (Click here)

It’s important to double-check your responses to the questions found in the last five resources. Occasionally, these resources may not be up-to-date or contain incorrect answers. It’s recommended to rely on official documentation and trusted sources consistently.

Important Links

Here is the link to the official PL300 Examination page where you can schedule the exam.

Here is the link to the sandbox which can be used to get an experience of the exam interface.

All the best for your exam! You’ve got this! Believe in yourself and your abilities. All your hard work and dedication will pay off. Stay focused, stay calm, and let your knowledge shine. Remember, this is your moment to show what you’re capable of. Trust in your preparation and go ace that exam!

Happy learning! Don’t forget to tap the clap button a couple of times to support me and save the article for future reference. Connect with me on LinkedIn. Whatever you do, put your heart into it and success will follow.

--

--

Santhanalakshmi Ponnurasan

Just an ordinary person with extraordinary dreams. Data Viz Expert || Microsoft Certified Data Analyst || Converts Data Into Meaningful Visuals