An Important List for your Holiday : My Favorite Coding Toys of 2017

Sara Chipps
4 min readNov 27, 2017

There are a lot of toys and even more noise out there focused on teaching kids the basics of coding. I’ve played with nearly all of the toys on the market that advertise teaching coding skills, the ones below are some of my favorites. This is your guide if you’re looking for something exciting and educational for a child in your life this holiday season.

Codebabies : Infants 0–2 Years

I mean, just the cutest.

Okay, yes, it’s fairly ridiculous to think that there are ways to shove the concepts of coding in such tiny minds, but there are. Check out these great books by codebabies. A gift like this says to your partner or friend “I’m not going to stop until this kids thinks and acts just like me”.

There is:

HTML for Babies

CSS for Babies

and of course, JavaScript for Babies

Code-a-Pillar : Toddlers 3–5 Years

this thing is loud but super fun

Last year I bought my nephew a Code-a-Pillar last year and he loved it. Also, it makes a freakin racket, so only buy if it’s not your actual child. The different…

--

--

Sara Chipps

I jam with the console cowboys in cyberspace. CEO @jewelbots #levolove JS4life