Nancy Pelosi is Perfect: Her Hair Stylist Is Not

Nancy Pelosi has enough on her mind. She can and must be protected from an unruly strand of hair.

SaraKay Smullens
3 min readJan 13, 2020
From the video of Nancy Pelosi’s interview on January 12, 2020 with George Stephanopoulos on ABC’s “This Week”

I did not sleep well last night. Before I explain why, I have a question: Did you see Nancy Pelosi interviewed by George Stephanopoulos yesterday morning? As would be expected, essential topics about the future of our country (the survival of all we hold dear!) were addressed, and Nancy’s responses were perfect. I adored (Didn’t you!) that Nancy defined projection — all the hate that spews from the mouth of our president is a projection of how he feels about himself!

Anyway, back to why I could not sleep: Throughout this important communication, Nancy in a wonderful red pantsuit by the way, kept pushing back a belligerent lock of her hair on the right side of her head that persistently fell close to her right eye, constantly threatening to fall into it. This was, to say the least, distracting to Nancy. To me too. Doesn’t she have enough on her mind! Don’t we?

You should know that I know a little about hair. To earn extra money in college, I cut hair, and when I was a single mom, I cut my kids’ hair. I learned the following: A “dip” on any side of the hair, sometimes accomplished with a layered cut, must blend into the entire side. This occurs easily…

--

--

SaraKay Smullens

SocialWorker & Writer (Burnout & SelfCare, ed2, ‘21), coined phrases “emotional sense of direction,” essential to navigate life dangers, & “societal burnout.”