Sebastian Rothe
2 min readJan 31, 2016

--

I really do not get your final conclusion. Why go so strong about it just to rest your case at status quo? You are angry and frustrated, which is absolutely understandable considering the overall situation in the States. And, of course there is no truth in racism against white people based on the accusations discussed in the public.

At the moment, I am not able to say if the movies you mentioned should be nominated, for I have not seen all of them – though Straight outa Compton, while a good movie, is just no Oscar material. And just to be clear: I think it is possible, that this is the case for all the movies you mentioned. In the same way I believe, that 12 Years a Slave and its cast deserved every honor it received. For all I know at the moment, this matter might have a foundation in this year’s nominations or it may not have.

However, being nowhere is simply wrong. First of all, a wide range of people is concerned with the matter – regardless if the movies should have been nominated or not. Secondly, there are some black people in the industry who accumulated huge amounts of money and influence.

To me the most important question is: Are these people putting their influence and money to a good use? For example, I wonder if Will Smith is helping young actors to get a foot in the door, and maybe strive in the profession that made him who he is. If he is I have not heard about it. The same goes for Samuel L. Jackson, Cuba Gooding Jr., and Halle Berry.

My point is that maybe those who are well settled in the industry, might not be so concerned with the subject matter overall – comfort does that to people. In that regard we are truly ONE. It would also reflect, that if people crossed the ceiling – the Frontier – they would try to get as much space between themselves and those who might follow. Also something people of all colors have in common, everywhere in the world.

--

--