My Second Home: Alexis Oladipo

CEO, GYMBITES

Second Home
3 min readSep 27, 2016

Like all great entrepreneurs, Alexis Oladipo noticed a gap in the market and created an innovative product to fill it – Gym Bites. After working out in her local gym, she realised that there was nothing healthy to eat in the vicinity, and came up with the idea of creating a food product for people struggling to maintain a healthy diet alongside a hectic work and social life. She joined The Prince’s Trust who helped her get her business up and running. After working day and night, Gym Bites — freshly-made meals served in jars — was born. When Second Home opened, Alexis joined as a roaming member.

Hi, Alexis. What recent project are you the most proud of and why?

I still cannot get over the fact that I have started a food business! Coming from a fashion background, and going through a very tough personal journey, it’s just amazing to know what you can achieve if you really apply faith, trust in God and believe in yourself. I call Gym Bites salad jars my babies, because I gave birth to the idea, nurtured them an now I am watching them/the business grow into something very beautiful that I am so proud of.

How has being at Second Home helped your work?

Being at Second Home has been such a blessing, especially the way it has happened, I really appreciate for one the lovely staff members, so friendly and extremely helpful. I am not entirely sure about other co-working spaces, however I enjoy being at here because we are looked after and if help is needed in area for the business, Second Home are always willing to help one way or another.

We ask everyone to select a book that will become part of Libreria’s permanent collection. Which book would you choose and why?

SEVENTY: By Dara Knox-Hooke. This book is simply amazing, it highlights the troubled times of the author’s life, coming from a very tough past, battling with inner demons, breaking free and finding love and peace in Christ. Without giving too much a way, she finds herself in trouble with the law in a foreign country… You can read the rest to find out what happens next. I have chosen this book because I am a believer of Christ and His marvellous works and this book is testimony of that!

Second Home is a creative workspace and cultural venue, bringing together diverse industries, disciplines and social businesses. Find out more about joining us here: secondhome.io

--

--

Second Home

Unique workspace and cultural venue, bringing together diverse industries, disciplines and social businesses. London/Lisbon/LA