Vomit Reality

Seishi Irimajiri
3 min readJan 8, 2019

--

Eventually, I’ve decided to delete the text about a kind of “New year, New me” because I was standing from a chair and writing it with my iPad. I thought the style would make me look like a cool guy or an intelligent business person, but unfortunately, I slipped my cutie iPad out of my hand and it hit on a desk and crashed and got distorted, as well as my fragile heart did.

That’s my cool happening as the new day. Well, speaking of the New Year holidays, I felt like I was going to throw up through the days, even though I hadn’t gotten any alcohol at any parties. The reason was not drinking something like that; playing games with a VR headset I bought. Let me tell you one thing. VR does NOT stand for “Vomit Really”, but for “Virtual Reality”, you know? VR is NOT a machine that makes you feel like you’re getting drunk and doing crazy without going to a party. I’d like to say again, I didn’t go to any parties during the holidays this year. Well, I actually got sick due to the VR headset, not alcohol. Simply, I mean overdoing VR games gives you a kind of motion sickness, which would make yourself throw up.

Looking back, this year I messed with lots of VR machines in some film festivals in the United States, Denmark, and Japan because you can often see them in film festivals. And I have submitted one VR film, which isn’t my work, created by some of my friends, to a couple of film festivals for a few years. In Denmark this year, I played a VR game, which was developed by one of the members of the workshop of animation and game creation I attended. Well, you know, actually I had lots of chances to look into the VR world. So I might have a special bond between me and something virtual. Wait, I don’t want like that.

Anyway, have you seen the Steven Spielberg’s film Ready Player One about a futuristic virtual world, into which the main character dives, running around a lot, getting a beautiful girl, kissing and making out with her, and at the end of the story the narrator says that, of all things, your life in the real world should be better than playing in a virtual reality game? That means Spielberg doesn’t believe in the possibility of VR, even through films. Yes, he is right, because if you move intensely, putting VR gear on your head like that film, you should get terrible motion sickness, vomit, throw up, and puke. There will be pukes. Rather than Ready Player One, It’s Ready Puker One. You aren’t ready for puking yet, are you?

But, don’t worry, you won’t get sick with VR, as long as you just watch a movie, such as Netflix or Amazon Video, not playing a game. The VR headset I bought is called Oculus Go. The comfortable machine lets you watch movies in kind of a virtual theater. I could say the theater has less than or equal to a screen in an actual theater in your town. I think you don’t need to go to a theater anymore. It’s worth it to get an Oculus Go if you are a filmgoer and living in a local area that doesn’t have any theaters and you don’t have any friends who can watch with you and you believe a possibility of VR, not like Spielberg.

--

--