Exploring America’s first national park

Senator Mike Enzi
4 min readAug 25, 2016

Yellowstone National Park has been a place of wonder for me almost my entire life. As a child growing up in Wyoming I would visit the park with my grandparents who stayed in the Park almost the whole season. My parents and sister and I went often to help them move to another campground. I got to fish, earn Scout merit badges, hike and go to Ranger talks at evening campfires. As I grew older and had my own family, Yellowstone continued to play an important role in my life. It helped create some of my favorite memories and some traditions. I check on the Park every year. This August my wife Diana and I are headed back for a another trip to once again explore the magic of America’s first national park. It is an especially good time to visit as the National Park Service celebrates its 100th birthday on August 25. Consider buying a commemorative coin from the U.S. Mint.

My wife Diana and I standing in front of the falls in Yellowstone. It was a gorgeous day to be out and about in the park.

Peering down the canyon at the Yellowstone River snaking it’s way through the park.

One of the more iconic shots of Yellowstone, the falls truly show you the wonder of the park and the beauty that it offers to all those who visit. It is important that we are able to keep the park open and accessible for all those who visit.

Maybe Wyoming’s most iconic animal, no trip to Yellowstone is truly complete without seeing the Bison that call it their home.

Some tourists go to that extra effort to get the best picture but you should always make sure you take the danger animals pose seriously. Bison have injured more people than any other animal in Yellowstone and can be unpredictable and dangerous.

Another good tip — it is important to follow paths in Yellowstone Park, especially if you are in an area where there might be hot springs.

No matter how many times you see the Old Faithful geyser erupt it is a terrific sight. Clearly a top attraction from the wall of tourists.

Can’t visit Yellowstone without making sure we continue the tradition that Diana and I have of eating ice cream outside of the general store at Fishing Bridge.

We made sure to stop in the general store at Fishing Bridge to have a look around and talk with the employees.

Standing in front of the falls you can really get a sense of the massive amount of water that is pours over the edge. Here is a shot of the Upper Falls in Yellowstone.

There are almost 300 waterfalls and cascades in Yellowstone park. Here we peered down on Gibbon Falls.

The hot springs stretching out over the park are really a site to see. They might not look like much in the photo but they are a geological wonder.

Every time I visit Yellowstone it gets harder and hard to leave.

--

--

Senator Mike Enzi

Former U.S. Senator Mike Enzi, R-Wyo. This account is not updated.