Trend, Seasonality, Moving Average, Auto Regressive Model : My Journey to Time Series Data with Interactive Code

Jae Duk Seo
7 min readJun 2, 2018
GIF from this website

So recently I have been working with Time Series Data. And I wanted to review what a Time series is as well as make my understanding more concert on Time Series Data.

Please note this post is for my future self and for me to gain more deeper understanding of Time Series.

Definition

Image from this website

There are multiple of different sources defining the term ‘Time Series’ , so here I’ll try to give a general definition that is easy for my self to understand.

Image from this website

A time series is a series of data points indexed (or listed or graphed) in time order.

As seen above, wiki gives very straight forward definition, any data in a sequential time order. Now lets take a look at the definition from investopedia.

--

--

Jae Duk Seo

Exploring the intersection of AI, deep learning, and art. Passionate about pushing the boundaries of multi-media production and beyond. #AIArt