Vince Staples’ ‘Summertime ‘06’ Disappointed Me

Erich Donaldson
4 min readJul 11, 2015

--

October 15, 2012 was the day I became a Vince Staples fan. The exact moment that I heard Vince alludes me. It had to be a guest feature, but nothing comes to mind. Could it just be curiosity? Maybe Casey Veggies name dropped him once and I felt the need to listen. Blogs were catching on, so it might’ve been an accidental stumble.

Whatever the case may be, Winter In Prague was my first dive into the mind of Vince Staples. The dark subject matter coiled around Michael Uzowuru’s fitting production put me in a musical trance. When he rapped, “When intensity is risen/ Women end up having children/ By niggas who didn’t love in the first place/ Gave it up on the first date/ Now she fucked in the worst way,” I was rooting for someone who had the same mindstate I had. This unapologetic, raw and unrefined style had much potential.

Despite being more well-rounded now, we can trace back one of his earliest instances of the direction he was headed in on “Lord.” The Long Beach native was painting a picture of his frustration toward religion, saying, “God don’t come when it’s niggas at the door.” As I mentioned, this was that unrefined take on the issue. Summertime ’06 carries this type of vibe but with much more appeal.

No I.D. should be credited heavily past his production, because he saw what I saw in Vince Staples early on. Shyne Coldchain Vol. 2 was hanging on to that raw, aggressive nature that Winter In Prague built upon with instances where you got a glimpse of the direction he was headed in. No I.D.’s guidance is the reason a song like “Nate” exists. He’s the reason why Hell Can Wait happened. His influence hits the peak, for now at least, with Summertime ‘06.

So, why would I say that this double-disc debut album is disappointing?

I think this is my own fault. I read his interview with The FADER and put it on a higher pedestal. I hoped this would be the best debut album with a concept since good kid, m.A.A.d city. He hyped it up as such. “It was the most intense time. We were in the seventh or eighth grade and getting away with everything, until one of my best friends ended up in jail. He’s there right now, for allegedly killing a little girl,” he told Fader on why 2006’s summer is the theme behind the album.

His wisdom stretched far beyond his age and even his music. He spoke like a man on the verge of knowing he was going to shift the culture, and I’m still banking on that one day. When he dropped gems in The Guardian like, “I care about what the music can do for people and what it can do for my family; past that, I think it’s more that we should focus more on benefiting the listener than ourselves,” I find myself cheering him on. Vince Staples is the artist we need to push to the masses.

Summertime ’06 is full of good songs, but, like I said, I expected more. My disappointment isn’t a reflection of a bad or poor album. It’s merely because Vince understands the art of interviews and having a good mouthpiece such as The Rock or Paul Heyman. I had hoped for more aggression, more Michael Uzowuru beats, but I’m holding onto a past that Vince moved on from. That raw, unrefined rapper I grew to love in 2012 has become a full-fledged artist.

When your expectations don’t match what you hear, most dismiss it as an album not meant to listen to more than once. I haven’t done that with Summertime ’06 nor will I. Not every album will give you that special feeling after one cycle. Coming to terms with my expectations, pushing them aside, and just enjoying what Vince Staples created is how I’m proceeding.

My disappointment is waning. “Lift Me Up” gives me chills. Future’s hook on “Senorita” is simple, yet effective enough to get stuck in my head. “Jump Off The Roof” is also just as catchy for the same reasons. I admire Vince Staples for making the album he wanted to without having to compromise his sound for a hit record. I appreciate who Vince Staples has become regardless if I’ve grown into loving it like I did the younger Vince.

In years to come, Vince Staples will be one of the artists that shifts the culture. He’s well on his way to that status. Mark my words.

Let me know your thoughts in the comments, and share the article if you enjoyed it. Follow me on Twitter.

Check out some of my other pieces: An Open Letter to Lil Wayne, From One Love To Another, Future’s Codeine Inspired Run, Tyrese Is Done As A Solo Artist & Nobody Cares, and OG Maco’s Intelligence, Social Media & Being Outspoken.

--

--

Erich Donaldson

I’m a combination of Gil from The Simpsons, Sting in 1997 and Earnest from Atlanta.