Black woman with curly hair is smiling. She’s wearing a sweater and matching headband.
7

Smiling while crying inside. Displaying a brave face while struggling to hold back tears. Casually conversing with family or friends but inwardly wanting to scream.

It wasn’t a bad dream. It was my life. Not staged. Not a figment of my imagination. At times, I wondered and even asked God, “How can this be real life?” In other words, “Why is this all happening? What’s going on with me? What’s going with the people around me?”

Through prayer, mental health therapy, and a conversation with my cousin, Dr. Kimberly Hodges, a licensed school psychologist, I learned to change my perspective on the situations I encountered. It helped me discover a positive outlook and move forward.

“In every situation, find meaning or the silver lining.” Dr. Hodges stated during table talk. It was my introduction to dialectical behavior therapy and helped me look at my circumstances through a different lens.

May is Mental Health Awareness month and I asked her to join me and share this coping technique with a broader audience. Listen to our full discussion where she explains ways to I M P R O V E the moment:

  • Imagery
  • Meaning
  • Prayer
  • Relaxation
  • One
  • Vacation
  • Encouragement

It’s important to note that the information provided in this podcast is not intended to replace individualized mental health therapy. Always seek the advice of your personal mental health provider.

Furthermore, we acknowledge it may be difficult for survivors of trauma to find meaning or the silver lining of their experience. However, it is possible to identify them with the help of a mental health professional. Silver lining outcomes may include having a stronger sense of resilience, security, discernment, gratefulness, spirituality, or wisdom.

If you are experiencing a crisis or emergency, call your doctor or 911 immediately. If you are having suicidal thoughts, call 1–800–273-TALK (8255) to speak to a trained counselor at a crisis center. The National Suicide Prevention Lifeline is available 24/7. It provides free and confidential support.

Thank you for reading and/or watching. Feel free to share your thoughts about this topic by email to ShellieSoapbox@gmail.com or leave a comment below.

Sending you love and light!

Shellie Soapbox Podcast & Blog series

Sharing my random thoughts and perspectives through blogs and podcasts. Ice cream lover.