Data Analyst in 6 months, to be or not to be ?

Shespeaks_data
2 min readMay 2, 2022

--

So this is a bit backdated, but 4 months ago, i decided i wanted to be a data analyst. I already introduced why but heres a recap; I wanted to further explore data analysis that I’d hitherto been introduced to in my work as a research assistant.

The first month was dedicated learning excel on udemy- I learnt using the Microsoft Excel Beginner to Advanced course*(I should do a proper review later but summary; it was worth it )-and it took about 3 hours daily for 30 days. In that time i went from absolute beginner to running macros, in between that were the tables,charts, data validation, pivot tables,lookups, scenarios, and so much more . This time of dedicated work helped me to build a proper foundation in data analysis.

The third month(April) ushered in good news; I’d gotten a scholarship with Women in Tech to learn(you guessed right!)data analytics!!. For me,that was an opportunity to consolidate in an organized environment what I’d learnt in the udemy course. I wasn't an excel master but my familiarity with almost all the basic concepts meant the first few classes were refreshers.

The course at Women In Tech also dovetailed the Google Analytics Course which i enrolled for mid April(another review upcoming!). This time i dedicated at least 4 hours daily to enable me stay ahead on both courses.

The 4th month is for consolidation, practising data analysis using excel with various data sets on kaggle, learning how to use python and sql and also giving platform to my thoughts on data analytics. My research work has also benefitted greatly so far from the new skill sets i have under my belt.

Im building my road map, and 3 months from now I guess we’d be able to answer the question, To be Or Not To Be.

*Microsoft Course -https://www.udemy.com/share/101Wde3@jIFYpwlyUvMK_SyyoXFvXsL7GRO9xI9dHBwkvf-muOR_26NhpPm5hJ6jpNAHiX_R/

--

--

Shespeaks_data

An ever learning data analyst, Heres an invite to you to partake in my journey transitioning from clinical medicine to data analytics