A Day In The Life of a Full-Time Writer

Here’s what that looks like for me.

Shannon Ashley
4 min readSep 27, 2019
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

Recently, I received some requests from readers who want to know what my usual day looks like. To some folks, the idea of writing online in lieu of working a “real job” seems like a novelty. For others, it seems foolish.

Either way, I get why people want to know. And to be perfectly honest? It’s pretty boring, but it’s still a life I love.

I wake up in the morning to get my daughter ready for school.

This is admittedly a new phase of my writer’s journey. My 5-year-old daughter began an all-day preschool five days a week.

So, first and foremost, I’ve now got to get her ready for the day and over to the school.

Depending upon what else is happening, I might have household chores to do before school. Which means I wake up between 5:30 and 7AM. But typically, 6:30.

Sometimes, I wake up early and knock out a draft.

I am not a quick writer by any means, but I occasionally do write a decent draft in an hour or two.

When I happen to naturally wake up early, say 4 or 5AM, I sometimes take that opportunity to write a story. Or, at least get started with…

--

--

Shannon Ashley

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com