What Barbie Gets Wrong About Diversity

What one toymaker easily gets right, Mattel hasn't accomplished in 60 years.

Shannon Ashley
11 min readJan 17, 2019

Last summer, like so many other parents before me, I begrudgingly began to buy Barbie dolls for my 4-year-old daughter Sophie. For a long time, I vowed against having them in the house at all, but call me a sucker for my daughter’s joy, because once she started noticing--and asking for--those damn dolls, I couldn’t resist when I saw how much they made her smile.

Along the way, I’ve made a point to get a variety of Barbies in different skin tones and body types. But this Christmas, when my sister sent my daughter a few different types of Barbies, I was mortified when Sophie told me that she didn’t like the dark-skinned Barbies, and didn’t want to play with them.

I’m pretty sure the blood drained from my face as I pictured a future where my daughter was that kid. The one who noticed different skin colors and took note of it in a negative way. It’s not just an embarrassing picture--it’s scary. I was raised in the Twin Cities, where diversity is normal and no big deal.

But now that we live in Tennessee, we’re in Trump country. A lot of people down here see diversity as some terrible, horrible, no good, very bad liberal agenda.

--

--

Shannon Ashley

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com