Homeless to Hopeful: How I Went From Poor & Pregnant To Being A Six-Figure Single Mom

Shannon Ashley
12 min readSep 29, 2019

Back in the fall of 2013, I was quickly crashing down from what I’d call a borderline delusion. About 8 months earlier, I fell in love with a man online and I quickly traded my life in the Twin Cities for the pursuit of a romance with him in Tennessee.

Our relationship read much like a soapy shojo manga. He was married and had 3 kids. He was also a chronic cheater and by mid-November I was pregnant… and then we were done.

One week, we were getting married. His divorce was finalized and he gave me my dream rose-gold and rose quartz ring. The next week, he was positive that he didn’t want to get married again because he’d “never been alone.”

At 32-years-old, I knew enough about men to understand that codependent guys typically use the statement that they’ve never been alone as a reason to break up and see other people. He was no exception and he informed me that he needed me to leave our shared 2-bedroom apartment so he could have his space.

Everything that transpired between us isn’t what matters today.

Thank god. But back then, I still had undiagnosed borderline personality disorder and I genuinely believed that my fiance leaving me homeless, heartbroken…

--

--

Shannon Ashley

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com