I Don't Want To Sleep Alone Anymore

So why don't I talk about it?

Shannon Ashley
4 min readAug 26, 2018
Photo by Ina Pashkina on Reshot

Last night I dozed off in my chair watching Sugar Rush on Netflix. I kept waking up and thinking about going upstairs to bed but it didn't happen until nearly 3AM.

To be honest, I just didn’t want to sleep alone. Obviously, it didn't matter whether I was in my bed or in my chair--I was alone wherever I slept. It just felt more final in bed.

I mentioned in a previous story that last night the one man I'm seeing had to cancel our date. Mr. Atlanta. He was out of town for work, as he often is, and he wanted to see me before he drove all the way back to Atlanta. But after too much work and too little sleep, he had to change plans.

He and I are in different places in our lives. He is polyamorous, I am monogamous. I'm a 36-year-old single mom, he's a 43-year-old man with no children. He travels the world, and I work at home. Mr. Atlanta is the only person I've dated knowing it's just for a season.

It works for me much better than I expected, but I suppose that makes sense since I don't have an awful lot of time for a partner, and I'm still learning what I need in one.

Before I met Mr. Atlanta last year, I dated an older INTJ. Mr. INTJ. I know, these nicknames are so clever. That relationship taught me a lot about…

--

--

Shannon Ashley

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com