Lessons From An $8K Month On Medium

This is the month I’ve been waiting for.

Shannon Ashley
Med Matters

--

Two weeks into February, I knew it was going to be a big month for me on Medium. When that second week of earnings reached more than $2,000, I realized I had a chance to reach the $8,000 I’ve long been dreaming about.

Back when I was still a newbie here, I noticed that per the Medium Partner Program updates, the highest paid writer usually made about 8 thousand dollars. So every month, I would read the update and think, “Someday, that could be me too.”

And it’s been my mission to get there, eventually, by writing about the things that matter most to me.

To be really honest, I have been debating how to write about my earnings this time around. The earnings which posted yesterday for the pay period that ended on Sunday. The earnings which finally were a large as I first dreamed about 10 months ago.

Some people are going to be upset that a fat single mom writing opinionated stories about life earned so much cash. I am on some folks' “hit lists,” so they groan every time they see my name on Medium.

--

--

Shannon Ashley
Med Matters

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com