Things We Don't Say When We Talk About Weight Loss

It's been a long time since I've had any wellness "win."

Shannon Ashley
Awkwardly Honest

--

For the past few months, my body has been too heavy to measure. Well, too heavy to weigh on my home scale. It has a 400-pound weight limit.

When I first began my own writing career last spring, my weight was ranging anywhere from 340 to 375 pounds, but swinging upwards. At some point, I gave up completely and saw my weight reach 400 pounds last fall.

Obviously, that's a huge number. I know, some of you are laughing or rolling your eyes. Some of you want to vomit. Meanwhile, I have intense, conflicted emotions about all of it. About typing it out or even talking about it. Because nobody else really knows what it's like for me in my body. They can guess, assume, or argue, but both this life and this body are mine alone and not theirs.

Obesity is not simply a lack of knowledge on the part of fat folks.

Sometimes, people want to give me advice about how to lose weight. Honestly? I roll my eyes every damn time because I have a long history of triple-digit weight loss and weight gain, so I'm much more knowledgeable about nutrition than most people might think. And weight loss isn't only about knowledge, of course. But we don't…

--

--

Shannon Ashley
Awkwardly Honest

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 🍵 https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley 📧 truthurts.substack.com