From Bollywood Music to Western Classical Music

My Music Journey Changing With My Kids

Shyamashree Acharya
3 min readNov 8, 2023

--

Photo by Ato Aikins on Unsplash

The music I grew up listening to is Bollywood. There was a little splatter of Odia Folk by Akhaya Mohanty, a little bit of Bonny M, and a dash of Harry Belafonte.

Some nights, we would tune in to BBC radio on my grandmother’s tiny black radio to hear the British top 10. I really wanted to like those songs, but I would change back to Binaca Geet Mala with Amin Sayani presenting the Bollywood Top 10.

But yes, we all knew Madonna and Michael Jackson.

With Channel V and MTV’s introduction to India, my music palate became diverse. From Shania Twain to Celine Dion, from Jon Bon Jovi to Backstreet Boys, from Bryan Adams to Snoop Dogg, I knew them all by their music, by their lyrics.

Nevertheless, First Love is still Bollywood music. The louder the beats, the better for my ears. If it has meaningless lyrics, it is even better to make up my own words. I didn’t care which music was copied from where.

If I can dance to it, then that song is mine.

--

--

Shyamashree Acharya

Navigating life as storyteller - telling stories with vulnerability, honesty and with a pinch of humor.