The mythical path

Siddhid Mitra
2 min readApr 1, 2024

--

The myth buried deep,
With the ruins of the path.
Unfortunately it couldn't stand,
The cruel nature's wrath.

The path doesn't exist now,
Nor are any ruins present.
But it's for sure that every visitor -
Remembers the time they had spent.

For that's the beauty of the path,
It's a dream, a world of lies.
How it takes you miles away from reality
And people always fail to realise.

The abandoned path lies,
Set amid the land of Utopia.
I was a visitor of the path once,
Where I had met Sophia.

She was the prettiest girl I ever met,
She was like a ray of bright sunshine.
Her hair like the waves of an ocean,
And her eyes were like fine wine.

And that's when I had promised myself,
To never leave the hand I hold.
And in a moment I had planned a lifetime
And a dream of us growing old.

It was ecstatic to walk down the path,
Holding the hand of a friend,
But the world of dreams collapsed,
When I realised the path had an end.

Sophia had to leave for her home,
In my eyes was a wanderer's gaze.
And no sooner had we met,
We both had diverged ways…

The mind was numb,
For the dreams the path had shown,
I had lost the track of time -
And had gone way too far in the unknown.

Temporary companionship and eternal bonds.
Are something in which we get confused,
But true wisdom lies in knowing,
When to cherish the walk, and when to embrace solitude.

It's difficult and heartbreaking,
For beyond everything, lies a pinnacle,
From where returning becomes a test of resilience,
Because eternal bond is something, mythical.

~ Sid

The possibility of you is better than the reality of someone else.
:)

--

--