I Will Run Away From Home And Never Come Back

Sidra Khan
3 min readJan 31, 2024

--

We have all had thoughts of leaving our homes during our early teenage years. (If you haven’t, you’ve had mature parents.)

During our early teenage years, we experience emotional development and begin to take life more seriously as we develop our ego.

When we turn eighteen, it’s time for us to prove ourselves as an adult.

Childhood, teenage and adulthood.

Of the three phases, the early teenage years and early adulthood are the toughest.

At 14 the pressure to look presentable got me, as a girl. Not because someone said it to me but because I was compared.

Our parents need to understand that in the fight of comparison, there will always going to be someone higher than us, just as there are rubies, emeralds and sapphires to diamonds. Even a face full of acne was okay for me. As soon as I realized that the comparison of diamond to other precious and rare stones doesn't lessen its worth in any way.

A diamond remains a diamond.

I‘m 19 today and I’m content with how I look. I no longer get ready to please others. After getting ready, I look at myself in the mirror if the look satisfies me that’s it for me. I’m good to go. Even a face full of acne was okay for me, as soon as I realized that the comparison of diamond to other precious and rare stones doesn’t lessen its worth in any way.

When I was humiliated for my smallest of mistakes because, in the next few years, I had to step into practical life. All their lessons were about what I did wrong or what could have possibly gone wrong.

But, how do I have to correct when something has gone wrong from me? Who is going to teach me that? Oh, so that’s my own thing to figure it out? How do I correct something that has gone wrong if all I’ve been taught is to focus on the problems and not on potential solutions?

In these situations above, all I thought about was running away from home and never coming back.

Photo from The Minds Journal from Pinterest

Dear parents, I know you wish the best for your offspring and don’t want them to face the difficulties you’ve experienced as flawed human beings.

However, in the effort to shape them into the perfect human beings, you forgot that flaws are what makes a human, human. What are we if not the flawed pieces of the puzzle, constantly trying to connect the other pieces so that life starts to make sense?

You need to calm down on your parenting strategy and maybe pivot it.

The things you say are sometimes belittling and humiliating your child's ego. You call it constructive criticism but there’s every slight line between constructive and destructive criticism.

As anything which is frequently done loses its worth, it goes the same for criticism.

Your child can become angry and defensive, and sometimes thoughts of leaving home and never looking back consume their mind

This child would grow up to be a mess and super defensive, would have low self-esteem and would be scared of trying out new things.

No parent should wish to raise such a child. Make a connection with your child.

Don’t be their masters but their wise friends.

Peace!✌️

_______________________________________________________________

Hey🙋‍♀️, If you like my writings, consider following me and subscribe to my email to read my writings as soon as they are published. You won’t regret it!

You can trust me, I’m a good witch(Oops! I meant writer.)!😉

Cheers,🥂

Sidra K.

--

--

Sidra Khan

Learning what goes in the making of the "Successful Writers". You can come along!