Santo Domingo: Exploring The Oldest Colonial City In The Americas

Amir Williams ᏐᏡᏢ
6 min readJul 19, 2024

A Journey through the “New World”

Intersection in Santo Domingo Photo taken by author

Not a member of Medium? Read here

The Domincan Republic has been on my travel bucket list for quite some. I have been around Domincan Americans all my life and I am very fond of them. My Dominican friends would often tell, me how beautiful their country is and urged me to explore their native homeland. I have been traveling the world quite a bit for the last decade, I have not traveled to the Caribbean islands as much as I would like to. My previous international trips have been to destinations mostly outside the Western Hemisphere.

This past year I vowed to explore more of the countries in the Caribbean and the rest of the Americas. In desperate need of a vacation, I went through my list and found one. The Dominican Republic (DR) was one of those on the list.

Many of my Dominican friends said I should visit the popular tourist areas like Punta Cana, Boca Chica, and Samana. Although I love beaches, I wanted more of a cultural experience, not the typical resort vacation many tourists take when they go to DR. I researched the city of Santiago and found that its beautiful architecture and nightlife provided a different experience. I was sold on Santiago until I started researching Santo Domingo.

--

--

Amir Williams ᏐᏡᏢ

Veteran/WorldTraveler/Genealogy/Historian/Community Organizer for Historical Black Towns. https://ko-fi.com/sietewilliams