SirThomas11_11
2 min readMay 18, 2019

Ledger Nano X Review

Received my Ledger Nano X today and have a few thoughts about it.

  1. Aesthetics: Packaging is nicer and it comes with fabric covered USB cable, key chain, and 24 word seed cards. I noticed that the X is much heavier and feels very solid compared to the S. Compared to other wallets it’s small and would be very easy to make a transaction in public. 👍
  1. Set Up: Very easy if your familiar with the Ledger Nano S. Just a few changes like double clicking to confirm selections and the integration with Ledger Live. I set mine up on my iPhone and chose not to link my already existing accounts, but to set up new wallets for BTC etc. Adding each token to the X takes about 30 seconds and adding multiple tokens at one time would be helpful. It looks to have that feature but did not work. Rename your X wallets so not to get them confused with your Nano S wallets on Ledger Live. 👍
  1. Conclusion: So after a few hours with the Nano X my overall grade at this point is mediocre. I give it this rating for the simple fact that most of the tokens you can add to the X, are not supported with a Ledger internal wallet. For me I was excited to have lots of tokens and be able to interact without a computer. Unfortunately until Ledger adds internal wallet support for all these coins it’s just a fancy Nano S.

Background: I own and try 90% of all hardware wallets on the market. I have my favorites but I still buy the newest ones to stay on top of my custody options. Right now Ellipal is my favorite, offering extreme security with the ability to never touch a computer. I look forward to Ledger adding more internal wallets so users can really take full advantage of the Nano X.