12 Albums That Have Stuck With Me

Zach Attacks Film
3 min readFeb 29, 2016

A Facebook challenge to the max.

On Facebook, my friend challenged me:

“Here are the rules: copy and paste this into your status update, list 12 albums that have stayed with you, but only 1 per band/artist. Don’t take too long and don’t think too hard.”

I actually want to talk about all these albums (and explain myself) so I figured that I would write about it here. Also, I’ll share my favorite song from each album. So here we go!

As Cities Burn-Come Now Sleep

I bought this album because I had a gift card at a Christian book store, and this cd looked really cool. When I heard that opening song, I fell in love with the guitar tone. That song is why I play a telecaster.

The Beatles-Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band

When I was a kid, I needed eye therapy. My parents would drive me out every week, and I dreaded this. My dad would let me pick out a cd for each trip, and I would usually go for this album. I think that this album is a masterpiece, and every song demonstrates the genius of The Beatles.

Between The Buried & Me-Colors

I bought this album because I really liked the song Alaska, but I couldn’t find that album anywhere. So I picked this album up, and I found it to be incredible. They way that this band seamlessly flows from genre to genre is practically unparalleled.

The Black Keys-Brothers

I’m a big fan of solid blusey rock n’ roll, which The Black Keys master. I really love the whole package here. I think that this album has flawless production and some amazing songs.

Caspian-Waking Season

I love post rock, but it’s not always very inspirational. This album made me want to write music again. Also, this album is always playing when I’m working. I always listen to Caspian and I write and the majority of my favorite songs come from this album.

Circa Survive-Juturna

The musicianship on this album is very impressive. This album just has very tight and excellent production. I’ve been trying to acquire their overdrive tone for a while, and I really like Anthony Green’s voice.

The “I Am Sam” soundtrack

The Beatles wrote some of the greatest songs ever, and these artists really made these songs very unique. I don’t hesitate to say that this is one of the best soundtracks.

Jaco Pastorius-Self-Titled

His bass playing is unparalleled. That’s it.

James Taylor: Greatest Hits:Vol 1

This album was my introduction to one of the greatest singer/songwriters ever. It’s a greatest hits album and it lives up to that name.

Neil Young-Harvest.

This album has a pretty full range and some of the best songs from a very accomplished musician. For real, I love Neil Young and I may or may not be pitching an idea for a biopic about him in the near future.

The Swell Season-Self-Titled

I am so inspired by the passion in Hansard’s voice. This is a haunting album due the way that these songs access raw emotions. This is an incredible album.

Underoath-Define The Great Line

This album is a perfect example of organized chaos. The album is wild and crazy, but never sloppy. The production is tighter than a drum and leaves you with a pretty excellent sound.

--

--

Zach Attacks Film

Host/Editor/Producer of the “Godfellas” podcast. 1/3rd of the “Is It Really?” podcast. Member of “RePlay: A Playback Theater Company.” Wearer of sweaters.