My Favorite J.J. Abrams

Zach Attacks Film
4 min readApr 25, 2016

--

I didn’t even know that I owned all of his movies!

J.J. Abrams. I love the guy! You know who else loves J.J? Everyone! Seriously, every film maker loves Abrams. J.J is just a guy who loves movies! He loves them, and he loves making them. He learns from his mistakes, and knows what works well. He knows how to use a big budget to his advantage as well.

Now, I’m talking about the films that Abrams has directed. He has produced more than he has directed, but I feel like he’s still one of the best modern directors.

5. Star Trek Into Darkness

I know everyone thinks that this is the worst film ever made, but I like it. It is a little dry, and it does feel like it’s trying to live up to the excellence of the first film. Still, when the action is going down this movie is very fun. I think that Abrams had a lot on his plate when he was directing this, and this film feels a little distracted. At the end of the day, I own this movie and I enjoy it.

4. Super 8

I really like this movie. This was a nice throw back to when “coming of age” films were actually great. This film feels like Stand By Me and Close Encounters of the Third Kind. I love the story about the kids making the film, but you know what I don’t really care for? (SPOILERS) The alien. I love the story about the father and his son, I love the story about the kids making a movie, but I don’t really care about the alien. Maybe that’s just me, but it’s true! I still really appreciate this film.

3. MI3

J.J’s first film, and what a first film it was!

Quick story: My dad took me to see this when I was a kid and I had never seen a Mission Impossible movie. My dad warned me that the second one wasn’t great, and I don’t remember him being excited about this one…then this film was AWESOME! This is still my favorite Mission Impossible film. The action is non-stop, the villain is the best in the franchise, and Tom Cruise is at his best. My issue is primarily with the film making. Way too many close ups and shaky cam. I like a little bit of both, but in this film it gets a little taxing after a while.

2. Star Wars: The Force Awakens

You know I love this movie. More than most. I think that Abrams was the man for the job! I love that he was able to incorporate his style into this film. I loved the characters, the cinematography, and almost everything! This film has a few issues with it’s story and a few “conveniences” but I still love this movie!

  1. Star Trek

Yeah. I never cared for Star Trek growing up, but my dad loved it. So we went to see this. I was expecting to be bored, but the minute I saw that signature lens flare, I knew I was in for a treat! This film displays everything I love about Abrams: Practical effects, lens flare, long takes, and fun! Abrams plays to his strengths here and the movie benefits from this brilliantly. This cast is astounding!! The dialogue is delightful, the script is tight, and come on! You know you love this one too!

--

--

Zach Attacks Film

Host/Editor/Producer of the “Godfellas” podcast. 1/3rd of the “Is It Really?” podcast. Member of “RePlay: A Playback Theater Company.” Wearer of sweaters.