Star Wars Directors

Zach Attacks Film
3 min readJan 12, 2016

I did not like Jurassic World. Now, I know you’re expecting me to get angry about Colin Trevorrow directing the ninth Star Wars film, but first I want to talk about the man. While I did not like his most recent directorial effort, Jurassic World, I quite enjoyed another film that he directed. This was a film called Safety Not Guaranteed. This was a very thoughtful and pleasant indie gem. He clearly has a love for sci-fi, but he apparently also has a love for CGI. Now we all know that the production of Jurassic World was a bit of a mess. So maybe the blame should not belong entirely to Trevorrow for bringing us this underwhelming film. If we look at the man’s record, we’ll see that he has one win and one lose (in my eyes) when it comes to film making. Who knows? Maybe this will be a great Star Wars movie and maybe Jurassic World was just a fluke. Still with all this being said, Trevorrow wouldn’t be my fifth choice to direct a Star Wars movie. Who would be? Let’s find out together! Note: This list is in no particular order.

Ryan Coogler

Coogler brought us Creed in 2015 which proves that he knows how to breath new life into a franchise, while putting his own twist on things. I don’t know how he would deal with all the battles and such, but I do know that the characters would have solid chemistry. To me, Star Wars should be about the characters and their journey.

Matt Reeves

Fun Fact: Abrams and Reeves were childhood friends. I found Dawn of the Planet of the Apes to be a very good film which took the Apes franchise to a new emotional level, and I think that Reeves’ direction was a large factor. I think we would have some awesome, loud, action scenes, and some very touching quiet moments.

Jon Favreau

I love this guy! He knows how to make a really fun movie, and I think his film would be tonally consistent with Abrams’ recent film entry. Granted that the next film will most likely be a bit darker in tone, but do I think that he would end the trilogy on a high note.

Brad Bird

Now Brad Bird did direct my least favorite film of 2015 (Tomorrowland) but he has a pretty good track record with films like The Incredibles and the fourth Mission Impossible film. The man is a fine director and I would like to see him recover from Tomorrowland with a great Star Wars films. I think Bird has a unique style when it comes to energizing characters that are already established and taking them to new, exciting heights.

Anyway, these are just my silly ramblings. At least Rian Johnson will (most likely) give us something great.

--

--

Zach Attacks Film

Host/Editor/Producer of the “Godfellas” podcast. 1/3rd of the “Is It Really?” podcast. Member of “RePlay: A Playback Theater Company.” Wearer of sweaters.