Trader Joe’s Aloe Vera Gel: Product Review

Allison Street
3 min readApr 21, 2016

--

#YellowLight

Okay guys, I’m going to put it out there for you. I love Aloe Vera Gel! It’s a magical plant that has the ability to calm irritation and heal broken skin. Let’s get one thing straight though, there are different kinds of Aloe out there. You have straight from the plant and then you have various extracts that have been broken down by such and such percentages to make this and that products. I am praising the former.

I have an Aloe Plant that I’ll use when I need serious healing power. I can just cut a piece of the stem off and periodically scrape the gel out of the middle and apply where needed. It’s like clear gel-e gold. The reason why you don’t see this marketed very much is because it takes alot of work and it is an acquired appreciation. Many people would rather glide on a nice lotion or gel that goes on smooth and dries clear, providing moisture, despite added ingredients that could potentially be harmful to their body.

Now, let’s discuss Trader Joe’s Aloe Vera Gel. Not quite the gel-e gold I was just referring to, but let’s take a look:

Benefits:

  • Smooth, Clear Application: This stuff dries without flaking. Win! I would recommend applying lotion afterwards as the moisture is not hardcore.
  • Provides Moisture and Healing Properties: It was perfect for cuts, especially shaving and cooling down skin after a day out in the sun.
  • The Smell: I happen to love the smell, it is a light and refreshing fragrance.
  • The Size: 12oz is a lot of post shaving or post sunny day applications.

Flaws:

  • The Smell: So many people are allergic or just prefer to purchase fragrance free products. I think Trader Joe’s should have taken that into consideration. The fragrance was not necessary.
  • Limited Application: I know people who use Aloe Vera Gel from Head to Toe. Due to the addition of fragrance and some of the other questionable ingredients, I would limit this product for use on the shoulders down.

Overall Opinion:

  • I give this a YELLOW LIGHT. While I loved the application and the price, I think there are better options out there that contain more beneficial ingredients. However, if you are on a tight budget and looking for an Aloe Gel to use on your BODY and you are not sensitive to fragrance, I say go for it.
  • If you’re not familiar with my ratings, Yellow Light means caution, slow your roll, heed my full review before purchasing.

Product Info (where to buy):

I purchased this Aloe Vera Gel at Trader Joe’s for about $3.00. [Whew, really broke the bank there!] ← — sarcasm. Like I said, for this price, it’s great for body application.

Compelling Story (alternative use):

As I was saying earlier in this post, I know some friends that use Aloe Vera Gel head to toe.

  • For my fellow curly girls, Aloe Vera Gel, can be used as a LIGHT hold gel and to tame frizz. It provides LIGHT moisture and remember that applying too much can weigh your hair down (depending on your type) and it would possibly (pre-gasp!) flake!
  • Shave much? After your weekly leg-shaving or epilation (I heart epilation!), you might try putting on a light layer of Aloe Vera Gel to help heal any nicks or help give a smooth appearance.
  • Burn easily? It does not matter what skin color you are, I’ve seen every type of person get burned by too much sun exposure. This definitely does the trick of calming the skin while providing a protective layer to start the healing process.

Full Disclosure: This is not a sponsored post. I purchased the Aloe Vera Gel on my own accord and with my own cold hard cash and wanted to provide my readers with an honest review, because I’m a product junkie and I enjoy writing.

--

--