Member Spotlight: Stephanie Rogers and Melody Shekari

Society of Work
3 min readFeb 12, 2019

--

We feel incredibly lucky to have this pair joining our community!

SoW: Who are you and what do you do?

We’re not your average lawyers!

MS: I’m Melody Shekari, the proud child of persian immigrants and Chattanooga native that returned to my hometown and got involved in politics and law. In a nutshell- I’m an Aquarius (humanitarian), ENFP (the Campaigner), and Enneagram 2w3 (the Helper/Achiever).

I became a lawyer to help people, and now I’ve got my own practice, working mostly in criminal defense and advising businesses, political candidates and campaigns, and non-profits.

SR: I’m Stephanie Rogers, I grew up a military brat but returned to Chattanooga several times a year every year to visit my grandparents, who still live in Hixson. I’m a lawyer by day….and also a lawyer by night. I am a mom to a little girl who is already cooler than I’ve ever been in my life and I plan to ride her coattails into stardom & get a Judge Judy type gig in my old age. When I’m not lawyering or daydreaming up my future TV courtroom, I’m nerding out, spending time with my daughter or volunteering.

SoW: Give a brief history of your background and education.

MS: I left Chattanooga to study business (undergrad in Boston), politics/organizations (Master in Public Administration in Seattle), and law in Los Angeles. I’ve worked in business and non-profits and, most notably and recently, ran for public office in Chattanooga (major party nominee and youngest candidate for Congress in 2016 and candidate in the Democratic primary for TN House of Reps in 2018).

SR: I went to University of Tennessee Knoxville for undergrad and New England Law | Boston for Law school.

Is there something that surprises people about the work that you do?

MS: In law, it’s always interesting! Alleged robbery at Love Shack, alleged forged $5 bills, etc… I could go on. There’s a reason for the many, many court and lawyer shows- cases are interesting and always surprising!

In politics, the rule is to expect the unexpected and yes, good people can and should get involved if we want things to change. There are also quite a few characters and shenanigans in politics.

SR: The thing I find that most people are surprised by is that I do this work in the first place. Nobody thinks I’m a lawyer when they meet me and especially not a criminal defense lawyer! I also do family law, landlord/tenant law, and wills and estates.

SoW: What are you most excited about being a member of Society of Work?

MS: I used to be a member and miss the mix of folks that you can only encounter in a space like this!

SR: I am so excited to be a part of the Society of Work because of the diversity in the professions of the members. I think working in a shared environment with people of all different backgrounds with different skills can only enhance our individual careers.

What do you like to do outside of work?

MS: My top 5 are

1) getting outdoors,

2) traveling (50+ countries & counting),

3) scuba diving as a volunteer at the TN aquarium,

4) embracing our TV show/documentary renaissance, and

5) attending/volunteering at community events

SR: Outside of work I’m a big nerd. I love comics, Game of Thrones, binging (good shows on) Netflix, gaming, collecting enamel pins and going to cons. My next con is Ice & Fire Con in April and I am going to Con of Thrones in Nashville in July! I’ll have my fave nerd memorabilia up in the office soon — come by and check it out anytime!

--

--

Society of Work

A membership-­based shared office space that's creating a culture where things get done.