100 day of vector challenge

sohier lotfy
3 min readSep 30, 2022

--

The begining

It all started when I was assigned to create an appealing interface, it required some creativity and a little of skills in using the mouse. I tried to create many vectors before in Illustrator, Figma, and even on my iPad using a pen. I found myself taking the whole day to create a super simple vector and it’s not even as perfect as I expect.


In October 2021, I stumbled upon an incredible event called Inktober. It’s a challenge where artists from different fields come together to showcase their talents. The prompt for each day is published ahead of time, allowing participants to plan their entire month of artwork. I was mesmerized by the amazing creations and spent hours engrossed in the talent on display. Ultimately, I was inspired to join in on the fun and use this opportunity to refine my skills with pen tools and vector art. Even though I started halfway through October, what mattered most was that I took that leap and began my own creative journey.

Inktober challenge outcome

After just 30 days of starting my journey, I couldn’t believe what I had accomplished. I had created 30 vibrant and imaginative illustrations, each one unique in its own way. It was a moment of pure joy and excitement as I realized that not only could I continue creating but that there was still so much more for me to explore and learn. The process itself became a source of fun and fulfillment, with each new illustration bringing me closer to discovering my true artistic potential. To top it off, I even began gaining followers on my Instagram account, connecting with others who shared my love for art. My illustrations started to take on a simpler yet more meaningful style, thanks to the tutorials that inspired me to improve specific techniques. This journey has been an incredible experience, full of joy and endless possibilities.

Day 42: Slime

Keeping consistent can be a real challenge at times, but it’s also incredibly rewarding. The key is to never give up and keep pushing forward, no matter what obstacles come your way. Personally, I decided to focus on honing my hand drawing skills while embracing the simplicity of vector and pen tool techniques. With enough practice and dedication, I know I’ll become proficient in no time at all!

100 Days of Vector

After the challenge:

After completing the challenge, I decided to revisit all 100 illustrations and ensure they were cohesive in style. I felt an overwhelming sense of joy and accomplishment knowing that I achieved this feat purely through my self-discipline. Learning this new skill was an enjoyable experience, and embarking on such a challenge is not as daunting as it may seem. With a belief in yourself, you can wholeheartedly commit to it. As I continue to expand my knowledge, there are still countless opportunities for growth, leading me to consider starting another 100-day challenge in the near future.

Resources

Some tutorials and article that helped me in my journey:

  1. Design & Illustration Tutorials on Envato Tuts+
  2. Sketch App Crash Course by Sketch Together
  3. Sketch Tips & Tutorials by InVision
  4. About that space illustration you keep seeing around by Nina Geometrieva
  5. Sketch Tutorial — Colorful Switch by Sebastien Gabriel
  6. 100 Days of Making by Tom Wahlin
  7. Color in UI Design: A (Practical) Framework by Erik D. Kennedy
  8. Sketch: Blending Modes 101 by Mauricio Uehara

Also, Instagram accounts that really inspired me through my journey:

Community: supplyanddesign, thedesigntalks, genecreative, illustate,

Individual: maite_franchi, lukedoylestudio, juliendreamdesign, liquid_ink, rosemarie.cc, typoe11, bymeilne, marioayala.design

follow my instagram:

https://www.instagram.com/sohier.namlah/

--

--

sohier lotfy
0 Followers

I write about what goes on my mind