A Soldier's Whisper
3 min readSep 6, 2016
Terry Wilson U.S. Army Veteran

THE VALUES I HOLD TO THIS DAY

I am a veteran and served in the Army from 1967 to 1970.

I was assigned to the 509th Airborne Regiment in Germany and the 24th Div at Fort Riley, Kansas as an infantryman and to this day I regret that I was never assigned to Nam. My last year was as a clerk with post operations, training and intelligence at Fort Riley. We were all young men of different races and backgrounds and grew to accept each other as family. I’ve often thought mandatory military service for all would go a long way toward eliminating much of the conflict facing our society. I’m so happy for this experience, which helped establish the values I hold to this day.

This group picture was taken during the weekend of our 50th High School Reunion in 2015 in Chardon, Ohio. The VFW and County honored those in our class who were veterans. The ceremony was quite moving. Three men from our class and a few from some class’s prior and after ours sacrificed their lives in Vietnam. Others I served with in the Army received orders to Nam and did not make it home. There are many whom I consider friends who did make it back but continue to suffer with disabilities, PTSD and/or the effects from Agent Orange.

Since I retired from my professional career as an architect, I have become an author with three self-published novels. A recent diagnosis has determined that I have a severe case of rectum cancer that may take my life. Treatment will start ASAP, but my biggest concern is for my wife’s well being should I pass. I am making a concerted effort to position them to sell in the future so my wife could collect royalties to help her survive.

All three of my novels Tarnished Valor, Breaking Liberator’s Shackles and The Blanket Hill Insurgency are built around military or veteran issues. I wrote Tarnished Valor as a tribute and to respect my many friends who were in Vietnam (some KIA) and the others who served.

It deals with veterans who were disrespected as they returned to “the World”, are disabled and facing the effects of PTSD and Agent Orange. I invite you all to visit my Amazon Author page https://www.amazon.com/Mr.-Terry-L-Wilson/e/B00IOQ865I

~ Terry Wilson, Vietnam Era Veteran Website http://terrywilsonsite.com and Twitter https://twitter.com/TerryLWilson2

A Soldier's Whisper

WWII VET’S DAUGHTER🇺🇸 Niece 2 Korean War Vet 🇺🇸 SIS 2 GULF WAR VET 🇺🇸 EX 2 NAM VET — Deployed nephews https://www.amazon.com/Jenny-La-Sala/e/B00NR36UYM