I Am Okay

You are away from me,
I thought it would hurt.
I thought I would saddened
Greatly, by your absence.
But I am okay.

I am confused occasionally,
When I see someone wear
A dress, like the one you wore,
And I think it is you.
And I think you came back.

I sometimes turn and face the wind
As it bears a familiar scent,
A smell which my heart feels.
The wind passes by, the scent
Lingers on and on.

I walk alone, now, across the woods,
In the afternoon heat and shade
Of the tall silver trees.
But the sun browned leaf litter,
Remembers, yearns for you.

I think I feel a growing weight,
As I sit alone at night,
I don’t miss you, I miss, I think,
The sound of your voice
As we talked.

People say I am broken, and I need
To mend myself, my ways.
I think they are wrong, I am fine.
I am not one who I was, a part of
Me has gone away. But I am okay.

--

--