A Failed Interview Taught Me To Keep This Cliche Piece of Advice in My Head Rent-Free

I affirmed this several times. Now it is automatic.

Asia Williams
2 min readApr 4, 2024

In my life, I have heard so many types of advice. Meh. Can we come up with something else because that expired years ago?

I like to have more options because the same things get worn out.

Photo by Fábio Alves on Unsplash

The truth is it hasn’t worked for me. There’s nothing wrong with coming to that realization. My path is truly unique. I am embracing this alternative path that I have taken.

I have tried so many hats. None of those fit me. The advice was so promising, and people had excellent results.

One day, I decided to try and failed in my attempt. On the internet, some people were successful in becoming virtual assistants.

I was on Ziprecruiter and saw a listing for a Virtual Assistant for a company. At the time, I wanted to build additional skills for working online. I did not know much about that company. I did my homework and found information on what the company did and who it served. It was a software-based company. I gathered my knowledge and hopped on a Zoom call with the recruiter.

Although I am grateful for the experience, I knew after the interview the position was not a good fit…

--

--

Asia Williams

An aspiring writer I talk about wellness and the reality of evolving relationships with self, others in being in your 20s