[Rust101] Cornell box rendered using ray tracing, implemented in Rust.

Sou1gh0st
1 min readOct 15, 2023

--

In order to practice Rust more effectively, I have decided to rewrite some some interesting projects in Rust. The first projects come to mind are those related to computer graphics. Therefore, I chose the Games 101 Path Tracing Assignment as my first project.

This assignment was originally written in C++, and I have rewritten it using Rust, here is a screenshot about this project:

This project uses Whitted-Style Ray Tracing Algorithm to render a Cornell Box, and in order to archive this, the project utilizes many features of Rust:

  • References and Borrowing
  • Structs and Implments
  • Defining Modules
  • Error Handling
  • Trait Objects
  • Object Oriented Programming
  • Smart Pointers
  • Concurrency

You can find me on Twitter, and locate this project on GitHub. I hope it can be helpful to you.

--

--