I’ll Have a Side of Damaged Psyche For Dinner, Please

What’s for dinner after emotional abuse? I can’t decide…literally.

Source: pixabay.com

What do you want for dinner?

Whatever, I don’t care.

What movie would you like to see?

I’m Ok with anything.

I truly have NO opinion. Well, not 100% of the time, but MUCH of the time.

I have no opinions on furniture, decorations, movies, television, restaurants, what you wear, what I wear, what we should do this weekend, and a whole host of other decisions that most people normally desire to weigh in on.

I’m not being passive-aggressive, nor do I secretly have a suppressed opinion.

I now know that my lack of opinion is the direct result of emotional abuse.

One of the remnants of being emotionally abused is not being able to make everyday decisions.

To someone who has been emotionally abused, an opinion is an atrophied muscle.

It’s very tough in the beginning, and it gets better with practice, but opinion-making never fully returns.

--

--

Stacy Brookman: Resilience Leadership Coach

Fed up playing the traditional corporate ladder climbing game? Speed your trip to confident leadership....on your own terms at: https://RealLifeResilience.com