Interview with Hayley Merrick — Luna Rose Therapies, Luna Rose Botanicals

Stafford & She
5 min readFeb 25, 2019

--

#StaffordWomenCan, sharing stories about local women and showcasing inspiring women who run local independent businesses on our high streets or from their own homes.

Hayley is a reflexologist and holistic therapist based in Eccleshall, Staffordshire. She is passionate about helping women to re-connect with their inner cycles, the moon and nature.

Hayley has always been interested in nature and would spend hours running around the garden and playing with flowers and leaves as a child. She qualified as a nurse and spent around 10 years working in that field, before a significant period of stress at work was the turning point that led to her decision to give up her job a few years later, return to her authentic self and concentrate on her passion, which is natural healing.

Hayley is qualified in reiki, reflexology, facials, meditation teaching, nutrition, aromatherapy, flower remedies, herbalism, crystal and colour therapy. In her therapy room in Eccleshall, she offers fertility and maternity reflexology treatments, aromatherapy reflexology, and reflexology to help relax and balance body and mind, all tailored to her client’s individual requirements. Some of the other treatments she offers are reiki, holistic facials and moon balance. You can find the full list of treatments on her website.

Hayley has recently launched her very own range of cyclic skincare products, Luna Rose Botanicals, which she also uses in her treatments. Her range includes facial moisturisers to complement each stage of a women’s cycle, facial masks, hair and body washes and body moisturisers. She also holds aromatherapy workshops at The Artisan Boutique in Stone, Staffordshire where participants can make their own room sprays.

Here Hayley tells us more about herself, her background and her business…

Tell us a bit about yourself?

I was born in Stoke and now live in Eccleshall with my husband James, who’s a graphic designer and wedding photographer. We’ve been living here for about 3 years now and absolutely love the area, especially having nature right on our door step and so many beautiful walks nearby.

Prior to setting up my business, I was a nurse for approaching 10 years and I feel that this gave me an amazing background knowledge and deep understanding of health, medical conditions and conventional treatments, which is invaluable to me as a therapist.

A lot of my time is filled with natural healing, it’s my absolute passion. When I’m not at the treatment room, I enjoy being out in nature, having treatments myself, learning, or reading about therapies and practising my daily rituals involving essential oils, meditation, herbs, oracle cards and crystals. I also love making aromatherapy skincare, the cinema, cake and cups of tea!

What inspired you to set up Luna Rose Therapies?

It was quite a journey to set up Luna Rose Therapies! It started back in 2011 when I went through a significant period of stress at work. I had always been interested in natural healing as a teenager, and this period of stress led me back to therapies. I began learning more and attending courses. After experiencing such amazing benefits myself, I set my heart on opening my own business to help others. Eventually I plucked up the courage to leave my job to expand my business.

What do you enjoy most about your job?

Seeing my clients relax and receiving feedback about how much the therapies have benefitted them. The improvements that treatments such as reflexology, reiki, Bach flower remedies and womb healing can make never cease to amaze me, it’s such a privilege to be able to provide these treatments.

What have been your biggest challenges setting up your own business?

For me, the biggest challenge was having the courage to leave employment and having trust in myself and my skills to make ends meet. I really needn’t have worried though. When you’re following your passion, it can’t help but work out. I’d recommend it to anyone.

What’s coming up for Luna Rose Therapies?

It’s a hugely exciting time for me at the moment with lots going on. I launched my aromatherapy skin & bath ritual range, Luna Rose Botanicals on 22nd February. The range has been consciously created with natural ingredients, organic essential oils and botanicals, helping women to connect on a deeper level to their menstrual cycle, the energies of the luna phases and to nature. The range is available to purchase via Etsy, https://www.etsy.com/shop/LunaRoseBotanicals

Treatment wise, I’m so happy to be providing lots of reflexology, including fertility and pregnancy reflexology, female energy awakening and womb healing. I’m also launching organic Luna Rose Botanicals holistic facials and shamanic reiki drumming in the coming months.

When asked about what advice she would give to other women wanting to start their own business, Hayley feels it is important to believe in yourself and your business, work out what you need to survive and build up the financial security around you, declutter and work on your mindset, be visible, be yourself and realise you can do it. Great advice!

To connect with Hayley, you can follow her on:

Instagram:

https://www.instagram.com/lunarose_therapies/

https://www.instagram.com/lunarosebotanicals/

Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/LunaRoseTherapies/

https://www.facebook.com/LunaRoseBotanicals/

Website:

www.lunarosetherapies.co.uk

All photos courtesy of James Merrick Photography.

http://www.jamesmerrick.co.uk/

--

--

Stafford & She

Celebrating and inspiring #StaffordBorough women, showcasing great local businesses run by #womenentrepreneurs, sharing what’s on locally #StaffordWomenCan