Student Reflections: Demetrio Manuel Pech Uc

Stanford Global Studies
4 min readAug 17, 2017

--

Demetrio Manuel Pech Uc (photo courtesy of Karen Camacho).

The following is a Q&A with Demetrio Manuel Pech Uc, who participated in the course ‘Global Risks: Biodiversity, Security and Governance in Latin America’ at Stanford’s Center for Latin American Studies during the summer of 2017. His comments have been translated from Spanish.

From: Municipio de Peto, Yucatán, México (Municipality of Peto, Yucatán, Mexico)

School: Universidad de Quintana Roo, Unido Academico

I am proudly Maya, originally from the Municipality of Peto in the state of Yucatán, Mexico. I am in the ninth semester in the Bachelors of Government and Public Management at the University of Quintana Roo, Academic Unit Playa de Carmen, in the State of Quintana Roo.

I completed my basic educational preparation in my town, however, given the lack of opportunities in my town, I had to emigrate to the neighboring State of Quintana Roo, where I began my professional training.

Currently, I am Titular of the Secretary of Management of the Student Society of the University of Quintana Roo, whose principle actions have been focused to benefit the students of the Academic Unit Playa del Carmen, watching over their interests and responding to their demands; in the same way, I have actively participated in a civil association in my town, as in the different Forums of Citizen Consultation in Quintana Roo.

On the other hand, I am conducting research for my thesis “La Recaudación Fiscal del Municipio de Peto, Yucatán (2012–2017): Una propuesta para hacerla más eficiente.” (“The Tax Collection of the Municipality of Peto, Yucatan (2012–2017): A Proposal to make it more efficient”), with the objective of increasing the participation of the citizens in their payment of taxes, in a fair and equitable way.

How/why did you became involved in the Global Risk course?

I became involved with the program because I am a helpful, young man who believes that the current situation in my country can be improved. I am confident that well-defined and properly formulated public policies can address the problems of my country. I am also a young man who believes more in actions than in words, who thinks that opportunities are not works of destiny, but the result of constant work, struggle and sacrifice.

What was your final presentation about?

The problems biodiversity faces in Quintana Roo, especially the relationship and importance of mangroves to tourism development and the impact it generates.

Although we cannot stop tourism growth in the State of Quintana Roo, especially because the state’s economy revolves around this sector, we can stop the depredation of mangroves and the coastal zone through environmental public policies, public policies that must protect and preserve these ecosystems in such a way as to allow development and economic growth while not countering the sustainability of the State.

What were some of your favorite parts of this experience?

I think the simple fact of getting here has been the best experience; sharing, debating and generating knowledge with the different participants and professors has allowed me to leave my comfort zone and have a broader view of the problems my country faces, as well as having given me the impulse to continue with my dreams and desires.

How has this course deepened your understanding of these issues?

My knowledge has expanded exponentially; definitely after this experience I will have more tools to understand the challenges facing my country, state and municipality. Without a doubt, I glimpsed at all the challenges of my country from another angle.

How has this experience impacted you personally, or academically?

It has changed my life both personally and academically, and has given me another perspective on how to deal with national and local problems. I know that although it seems impossible, things can be improved.

Anything else you’d like to add?

I think the summer course should be extended to be at least 3 weeks at Stanford, because two weeks is a very short time and themes are extensive and interesting. But overall, I am very happy and satisfied for having participated in this wonderful experience. I hope to someday return to this wonderful institution that starting today, I carry in my heart. I will be grateful for the interest and support granted by Stanford, ITAM, the Embassy of the United States, and ANUIES, during this adventure.

Thank you so much! This one for Mexico! Now is when!

The ‘Global Risks’ course is a joint effort between Stanford’s Center for Latin American Studies, Mexico’s Autonomous Institute of Technology (ITAM), Mexico’s National Association of Universities and Higher Education Institutions (ANUIES), and the U.S. Embassy to Mexico.

--

--

Stanford Global Studies

A community of 14 Stanford University programs that provides students & scholars with unique opportunities to explore the complexities of our globalized world.