Student Reflections: Maximiliano Hernández Cabrera

Stanford Global Studies
3 min readAug 17, 2017

--

Maximiliano Hernández Cabrera (photo courtesy of Karen Camacho).

The following is a Q&A with Maximiliano Hernández Cabrera, who participated in the course ‘Global Risks: Biodiversity, Security and Governance in Latin America’ at Stanford’s Center for Latin American Studies during the summer of 2017. His comments have been translated from Spanish.

School: Universidad Veracruzana Intercultural sede regional Huasteca (Intercultural University of Veracruz in the region Huasteca region)

Ethnicity: Náhuatl

I am currently in the sixth semester of my bachelor’s in Intercultural Management for Development, and my research topic is the promise of the Holy Rosa ritual as a healing process. In addition to being a student, I am also a traditional doctor and I am very proud of my traditional knowledge.

The reason I joined the “Global Risks” course is because I found it very interesting. In my municipality, there are a lot of issues with the bad governing of the mayors, and there is also corruption during the candidacy periods when there is conflict between the candidates themselves to obtain the post of municipal mayoralty.

What was your final presentation about?

“The Legalization of Poppy.” After conducting an analysis of narco trafficking and corruption, I realized that embedded in this entire situation is poppy, a drug that has not yet been legalized and that has a high demand since Mexico is the country that produces the greatest amount of poppy and it is imported to the United States. Additionally, the producers do not receive adequate compensation for their harvests, and another finding is that poppy has properties to cure diseases. As a conclusion, we suggest the legalization of poppy to reduce violence and narco trafficking, and the use of poppy as medicine to treat illnesses.

What were some of your favorite parts of this experience?

The experience that I liked the most about this course are the topics that are analyzed during the program’s sessions on governance in Mexico, violence, and narco trafficking, as well as the trips to San Jose and San Francisco; however, the most enjoyable part was getting to know Stanford. It was an honor staying at Stanford. I also liked exchanging knowledge with my classmates and learning about the experiences of some doctorate students at Stanford.

How has this course deepened your understanding of these issues?

I have deepened my knowledge on the issues discussed in such a manner that I relate them with the issues that arise in my state/municipality since there are similarities between all these issues discussed; violence and narcotrafficking are issues present in the majority of the states.

How has this experience impacted you personally, or academically?

This course has impacted me now that I have acquired new knowledge that will help me contribute to and complement my work addressing the problems my community faces, so that there is change and violence decreases.

Anything else you’d like to add?

I would like to thank the United States Embassy for giving me this scholarship and for the opportunity to participate in this summer course. I take with me new knowledge from this course that will help me in my development.

Tlascamati miak (Many thanks).

Next: Jacobo Diego Martínez

The ‘Global Risks’ course is a joint effort between Stanford’s Center for Latin American Studies, Mexico’s Autonomous Institute of Technology (ITAM), Mexico’s National Association of Universities and Higher Education Institutions (ANUIES), and the U.S. Embassy to Mexico.

--

--

Stanford Global Studies

A community of 14 Stanford University programs that provides students & scholars with unique opportunities to explore the complexities of our globalized world.