How hard is a physics major? An experience

The truth about Einstein’s major from a female physicist

Yildiz Culcu
3 min readAug 4, 2022

--

No, it’s not hard. That’s the answer. A physics major is not hard, I mean it sure is harder than receiving most other degrees but it’s not super hard and I am no super brain, believe me! Oh, if you are new here, you might not know me. My name is Yildiz and I study physics and philosophy at the Christian-Albrecht's university, which is the same university where the famous physicist Max Planck studied and later was habilitated. I like to brag about this, forgive me.

I also currently work as a Research Assistant in the section for theoretical physics in Kiel. I must seem quite arrogant to you right now if I say that physics is not that hard. Einstein, Feynman, Stephen Hawking, all these super brains were physicists and they did things not many people would be able to do. And yes, to study physics means you have to study damn hard, you won’t just intuitively understand things and most of the time even counterintuitively you won’t understand things that much. There are quite many things no one in physics understands, not even the smartest people on earth because they are riddles to us. I mean yes we all understand that an apple falls down the tree to the ground because of gravity and we understand that velocity is measured in kilometers per hour. But these…

--

--

Yildiz Culcu

Science, Tech, philosophy. converted capitalist, 2xTop-Writer in Future and Feminism, pursuing truth⭐ contact: magnolie329@gmail.com